Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ask a simple question, get a simple answer - Geist edition.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • From the 2 ed core book
    "These Manifestations only work on Anchors — one ghost could appear as an apparition to his wife, but not to anyone else. Another comes to inhabit the car that killed her in a DUI. Less powerful ghosts have specific Anchors, while more powerful ones that have descended to and returned from the Underworld have more general Anchors; a geist called the Candle Man can inhabit any flame or possess any third-degree burn victim."

    Does this refer to the use of a level 4 influence or it means that rank 3 ghosts can automatically use such kind of item/people as anchors?

    Comment


    • Originally posted by Neos01 View Post
      Does this refer to the use of a level 4 influence or it means that rank 3 ghosts can automatically use such kind of item/people as anchors?
      Insofar as this can be reconciled with the Legions of the Dead section's statement that geists don't have Anchors, it may be prudent to operate under similar rules to the Resonant Condition used by spirits — immunity to Essence bleed means geists don't have to worry about the proximity limitations of the Anchor Condition outside of long-term Essence generation, and the impersonal quality of the Influence means if a viable subject of the geist's innate Key can be "resolved" at all it's by getting rid of it, so in practice it's probably safe to assume Rank 3+ ghosts can detect the presence of their Keys and recover Essence and use Manifestations near things appropriate to the broad-scope circumstances of their death.

      tl;dr The latter, if we take the cues 2e gives us that geists are still more like spirits than regular ghosts even without 1e's intermittent talk of hybridization.


      Resident Sanguinary Analyst
      Currently Consuming: Changeling: the Lost 1e

      Comment


      • Originally posted by Satchel View Post
        Insofar as this can be reconciled with the Legions of the Dead section's statement that geists don't have Anchors, it may be prudent to operate under similar rules to the Resonant Condition used by spirits — immunity to Essence bleed means geists don't have to worry about the proximity limitations of the Anchor Condition outside of long-term Essence generation, and the impersonal quality of the Influence means if a viable subject of the geist's innate Key can be "resolved" at all it's by getting rid of it, so in practice it's probably safe to assume Rank 3+ ghosts can detect the presence of their Keys and recover Essence and use Manifestations near things appropriate to the broad-scope circumstances of their death.

        tl;dr The latter, if we take the cues 2e gives us that geists are still more like spirits than regular ghosts even without 1e's intermittent talk of hybridization.
        It seems a reasonable interpretation, thanks

        Comment


        • Most of the effects of the Defiant Condition don't have any effect on lawbreakers in a Boneyard using The New Law as written. Is this intentional, or should we assume that instances of "Dominion" should be replaced with Boneyard and instances of "Kerberos" should be replaced with Creator when it's gained in response to The New Law?

          Comment


          • Originally posted by Minty View Post
            Most of the effects of the Defiant Condition don't have any effect on lawbreakers in a Boneyard using The New Law as written. Is this intentional, or should we assume that instances of "Dominion" should be replaced with Boneyard and instances of "Kerberos" should be replaced with Creator when it's gained in response to The New Law?
            Probably the latter, for much the same reason that Tomb 3 making its Haunt Condition Persistent doesn't actually remove the time limit as-written.


            Resident Sanguinary Analyst
            Currently Consuming: Changeling: the Lost 1e

            Comment


            • Where does the Bargain take place ? Since it's apparently a manisfestation and you have to be dying to take the bargain, do most bargain take place in the twilight/material world ? Or does your mind briefly go to the underwold where upon th actual bargain is made ?


              .

              Comment


              • Originally posted by Emerick View Post
                Where does the Bargain take place ? Since it's apparently a manisfestation and you have to be dying to take the bargain, do most bargain take place in the twilight/material world ? Or does your mind briefly go to the underwold where upon th actual bargain is made ?
                It's in twilight/mortal world, unless you were already in the underworld for some reason.


                Genius templates (for Demon: the Descent)

                Rakshasa: the Kingdom (Featuring the Extinction Chronicle) [WIP]

                Comment


                • If a bound Geist gain a rank through rememberance or completing the Sin eater burden, does the Geist gains a new ban and bane and improve their abilities ?


                  .

                  Comment


                  • Originally posted by Emerick View Post
                    If a bound Geist gain a rank through rememberance or completing the Sin eater burden, does the Geist gains a new ban and bane and improve their abilities ?
                    Per developer commentary, apparently not; the effects of higher honorary Rank to Sin-Eaters are pretty much confined to having a higher Rank for the purposes of counting as a bane to weaker ghosts, being able to draw upon higher levels of their Remembrance Traits, and having more dots in Influence: [Innate Keys] and a higher threshold for Down and Dirty Combat when Unleashing their geist.


                    Resident Sanguinary Analyst
                    Currently Consuming: Changeling: the Lost 1e

                    Comment


                    • Can a Ghost resolve an anchor created by the Forge anchor ceremony ? Could this ceremony by used to help a ghost pass on ?


                      .

                      Comment


                      • We're in a mixed genre game, our Sin-Eater took the Distant Vision ceremony. When I was writing up her cheat sheet for her I saw that it said "Only other Sin-Eaters can see this image, not mortals". Unlike other abilities the fact this specifies both Sin-Eaters and mortals confused me? Does this mean non-mortals (vampires and demons as an example) can all view the image?

                        Comment


                        • Originally posted by thehallow1 View Post
                          We're in a mixed genre game, our Sin-Eater took the Distant Vision ceremony. When I was writing up her cheat sheet for her I saw that it said "Only other Sin-Eaters can see this image, not mortals". Unlike other abilities the fact this specifies both Sin-Eaters and mortals confused me? Does this mean non-mortals (vampires and demons as an example) can all view the image?
                          "Mortals" tends to be shorthand for "characters who aren't supernatural beings," but in this particular case the most likely crossover-viable interpretation is that the outcome of the ceremony can only be seen by people who can see unmanifested ghosts.


                          Resident Sanguinary Analyst
                          Currently Consuming: Changeling: the Lost 1e

                          Comment


                          • Originally posted by Satchel View Post
                            "Mortals" tends to be shorthand for "characters who aren't supernatural beings," but in this particular case the most likely crossover-viable interpretation is that the outcome of the ceremony can only be seen by people who can see unmanifested ghosts.

                            Thank you - I was figuring only Sin-Eaters and others who can see unmanifested ghosts would win out, but I wanted to be sure before I sent the cheat sheet off.

                            Comment


                            • Originally posted by Emerick View Post
                              Can a Ghost resolve an anchor created by the Forge anchor ceremony ? Could this ceremony by used to help a ghost pass on ?
                              In the backer pdf of Geist 2E, page 189, it says that a ghost only has to be willing to let go of an Anchor to Resolve it. For most Anchors (their natural ones) this will require a lot of emotional processing and usually some kind of action from the Living, but for an artificially bound Anchor, they might only need to be ready and willing to give it up.

                              Although it would make for an interesting side effect / story hook that forging a new Anchor through a ceremony draws out or even creates new unresolved business and feelings associated to it - and that, like any other Anchor, it has to be resolved. None of the mechanics that I wash able to find require this, but I think it would be appropriate for the metaphysics, and a fair drawback to impose on such a powerful ceremony.


                              Second Chance for

                              A Beautiful Madness

                              Comment


                              • The 4 dot Shroud power, Harrow, says that you can bring another person into Twilight with you, but if they resist you must grapple them first. The Shroud condition also says that it resolves if you "do something to draw significant attention to yourself (e.g. attack someone, scream loudly, use another Haunt)." Should I take this to mean that grappling doesn't count as drawing enough attention to resolve the condition, or how does this work?

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X