Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ask a simple question, get a simple answer - Geist edition.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • The only two ways described in GtS-E 2e (that I can remember) is the following:
    Drinking from a River. Drinking from one (no matter the amount, really) deals one aggravated damage per turn for for [10 - Integrity] turns. Doing this increases Rank by 1.
    The merger of two Doppelgänger (two ghosts of the same individual; can be created through different shenanigans like near death experiences or magic). When they come into contact they automatically start eating each other. The survivor increases Rank by 1.
    When it happens, it happens. No time need passing other than the time required to drink a sip or eating your clone.

    Technically just increasing Rank doesn't necessarily mean the ghost turns into a Geist; it's specifically when you reach Rank 3 you become a Geist. I believe drinking from the Rivers is the only intended way to become a Geist, and that only Rank 2 ghosts would do so, and that Doppelgänger only eat each other when at Rank 1 because it makes zero sense they get transformed into a heavily Underworld-connected entity without even visiting the Underworld. This disconnect in rules and fluff is a pet peeve that irritates me to no end, but for your NPC you could just make sure it's Rank 2 when it drinks from a River.

    And just a final side note: GMC rules update (and later CofD core book) stated that ghosts can only increase Rank while in the Underworld, but doesn't say anything about how that happens. Some took it to mean it happens over time, but GtS-E 2e clarifies that vague statement.


    Bloodline: The Stygians
    Ordo Dracul Mysteries: Mystery of Smoke, Revised Mystery of Živa
    Mage The Awakening: Spell Quick Reference (single page and landscape for computer screens)

    Comment


    • Quick question!

      Can you use abjuration to dispel a possession condition? And if yes, what happens to the abjured ghost?

      Comment


      • Originally posted by Ipergigio View Post
        Can you use abjuration to dispel a possession condition?
        Suppress, not dispel. Suppressing Manifestation Conditions is the primary use for abjuration.
        Unfortunately Bound/Sin-Eaters might not be able to do abjurations depending on how strict interpretation you have. At least, the rules for it are incomplete because Bound lack traits that are important modifiers for the roll.

        Originally posted by Ipergigio View Post
        And if yes, what happens to the abjured ghost?
        It stops possessing whoever.


        Bloodline: The Stygians
        Ordo Dracul Mysteries: Mystery of Smoke, Revised Mystery of Živa
        Mage The Awakening: Spell Quick Reference (single page and landscape for computer screens)

        Comment


        • I don't understand. Why you say sin-eaters cannot perform abjuration? It is also reported into the core rulebook.
          Last edited by Ipergigio; 07-14-2020, 06:13 PM.

          Comment


          • Originally posted by Ipergigio View Post
            I don't understand. Why you say sin-eaters cannot perform abjuration? It is also reported into the core rulebook.
            The text in CofD quite clearly states abjuration comes from the soul, and even if it's only flowery language, the rules simply do not account for Bound because the dice pool is supposed to be modified depending on Integrity (as well as Virtue and Vice).

            When double checking in GtSE, I see that there is a slightly edited version included under "Common Actions". That one should probably work considering which book it's in and the fact that there's no mention of souls or mortal traits.


            Bloodline: The Stygians
            Ordo Dracul Mysteries: Mystery of Smoke, Revised Mystery of Živa
            Mage The Awakening: Spell Quick Reference (single page and landscape for computer screens)

            Comment


            • I want to double check that my reading of the Rage is correct. Does Rage deal bashing or lethal damage?

              Your unarmed attacks gain a weapon damage rating
              equal to Plasm spent on Vent the Rage. Ghosts suffer
              lethal damage from these attacks.

              I *think* it's lethal because the core rules mention that every weapon does lethal damage, and there's specific rules for unarmed attacks that lay it out different. The Rage condition states that Ghosts suffer lethal damage from these attacks because Ghosts normally don't suffer damage from physical attacks not because unarmed attacks typically cause bashing.

              Does that sound correct?

              Comment


              • Yes, my understanding is also that the Rage deals lethal damage. Not just to ghosts, but also to ghosts.

                Comment


                • What happens when a ghost with the Dead Meat merit wears a Deathmask? Does their meat body change to match the Reaper's form? If so, are they still ignored by most people?

                  Comment


                  • Originally posted by Minty View Post
                    What happens when a ghost with the Dead Meat merit wears a Deathmask? Does their meat body change to match the Reaper's form? If so, are they still ignored by most people?
                    When donning a death mask, they almost turn into a new character. I imagine it could be different for each ghost. Maybe for 1 ghost it suppresses the merit, for another it molds their new form along side it.

                    Comment


                    • If a Bound feeds their geist a Memento created from the Ghost Binding Ceremony, does that count as ectophagia?

                      Comment


                      • I'd say so, at the very least it's a synergy breaking point with a penalty equal to ectophagia.


                        .

                        Comment


                        • If a ghost is Trapped in the Walls of the Underworld, the core book says they lose one Essence per day and one Integrity if they cannot pay. For 3 Essence, they can restore an Integrity point. But at that point they should have 3 days worth of tithes. However, the core book does not mention anything about getting them out of the walls. Does it mean they need to restore themselves to full Integrity (or wherever they were before being absorbed) and pay a point of Essence before they are freed ? Are they going to be absorbed regardless and this just delays the inevitable ?


                          New experiences are the font of creativity, when seeking inspiration, break your routine.

                          The Agathos Kai Sophos, an Acanthus Legacy of strategists
                          The Szary Strażnik, an Obrimos Legacy of Scholars of the Glyphs of Fate

                          Comment


                          • Originally posted by KaiserAfini View Post
                            If a ghost is Trapped in the Walls of the Underworld, the core book says they lose one Essence per day and one Integrity if they cannot pay. For 3 Essence, they can restore an Integrity point. But at that point they should have 3 days worth of tithes. However, the core book does not mention anything about getting them out of the walls. Does it mean they need to restore themselves to full Integrity (or wherever they were before being absorbed) and pay a point of Essence before they are freed ? Are they going to be absorbed regardless and this just delays the inevitable ?
                            Paying one Essence per day is what stops a ghost from getting Trapped in the Walls, at which point they have no Essence left to spend and the Underworld goes for their Integrity and autonomy. The rule is called "Last Chance" for a reason.

                            Plasm and living memory can stall out a ghost's final consumption to set their affairs in order through external assistance, but once you've been incorporated into the geography, you're in dire straits.


                            Resident Lore-Hound
                            Currently Consuming: Hunter: the Vigil 1e

                            Comment


                            • Originally posted by Satchel View Post
                              Paying one Essence per day is what stops a ghost from getting Trapped in the Walls, at which point they have no Essence left to spend and the Underworld goes for their Integrity and autonomy. The rule is called "Last Chance" for a reason.

                              Plasm and living memory can stall out a ghost's final consumption to set their affairs in order through external assistance, but once you've been incorporated into the geography, you're in dire straits.

                              So basically its a race against time. They need someone to either research a way to set them free or complete their Anchors as proxies, all while providing them with a steady supply of Essence. Cool, thank you.


                              New experiences are the font of creativity, when seeking inspiration, break your routine.

                              The Agathos Kai Sophos, an Acanthus Legacy of strategists
                              The Szary Strażnik, an Obrimos Legacy of Scholars of the Glyphs of Fate

                              Comment


                              • Hi!
                                This is a silly question about aesthetics.
                                When a Sin-eater don the Caul, do you think we can visualize the outcome just like a Marvel's symbiote?

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X