Key of Time?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Key of Time?

So.. I went on here wanting to ask this already, and I saw Arc mentioning the idea that the existing keys are meant to be kinda.. set in stone, so to speak.. but this is a big question that I wonder about in 2e because it surely is something that people have thought of. Is there a Key of Time?

Clearly, no Sin Eater unlocked it naturally in theory. Old age is one of the few things one of the Bound can die from. But their Geist, and other ghosts (and thus, Mementos and other in game mechanics) could theoretically be tied to just... Your expiration date came up.

But as a former premed student, I also understand that dying of old age is highly abstract. When someone dies of "old age", it'd usually actually be the Plagued Key, the Silent Key, or maybe even the elemental or Primeval Keys. Time itself doesn't really kill anyone, just.. their body giving up in one way or another that matches up to existing keys but can easily be shrugged off as "natural causes" or just "it was their time to go".

But it's not like science and medicine have a chokehold on the metaphysical resonance of death in the game. The idea of how someone died isn't always cut and dry and easily defined.

So.. IS there a Key of Time? Are there Geists and Mementos reflecting death by old age? Is it more thematic to explore the idea that dying by old age is ACTUALLY one of the other already existing keys, or more fun for the Key of Time to be a separate entity that no Bound has naturally?
    Last edited by Cleverest of Things; 12-14-2020, 08:01 AM.

From a certain point of view, all of the keys are a key of time.
    In other words, as you said time cannot actually kill or damage, entropy does it.
    The keys are specific and singular aspects of entropy.
    So if you are intrigued by the concept of a Key of Time you could rule that once a Sin eater has access to all of the keys he can "forge" the legendary key of time