Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ask a Simple Question, Get a Simple Answer: Hunter Edition

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Ask a Simple Question, Get a Simple Answer: Hunter Edition

    Because everyone else has one, why not the Hunter tab?
    No actual question to start this out elegantly. So we can pretend that above thing was a non-rhetorical question.

  • joewolz
    replied
    Originally posted by Satchel View Post
    Nope. There's no cost listed for them in the Experience Costs table on page 74, and Step Six of Character Creation has this to say:



    If you're part of an organization, pursuing Status can give your cell more favored Tactics that it's more effective at, but the cost of "buying" Tactics is mostly just having the stats to pull them off.
    Thanks! I can stare at the pages all day and still miss stuff like that.

    Leave a comment:


  • Satchel
    replied
    Originally posted by joewolz View Post
    Do groups/characters have to buy tactics? I cannot find reference to that, just a list and how to do them
    Nope. There's no cost listed for them in the Experience Costs table on page 74, and Step Six of Character Creation has this to say:

    Any hunter can perform any Tactic, provided they’re willing to risk Willpower (p. 135). However, the cells that learn how to play to their strengths will favor certain Tactics above others.
    If you're part of an organization, pursuing Status can give your cell more favored Tactics that it's more effective at, but the cost of "buying" Tactics is mostly just having the stats to pull them off.

    Leave a comment:


  • joewolz
    replied
    Do groups/characters have to buy tactics? I cannot find reference to that, just a list and how to do them

    Leave a comment:


  • Professor Phobos
    replied
    Originally posted by Satchel View Post
    Per the preceding one-cross annotation, circumstances that benefit the player should be read as a positive; accordingly, since more uses is better for the character, "cost" should probably be "value" in the terms on the chart, such that a consumable has a net modifier on the value of the Endowment equal to [number of uses - 2], i.e. a one-use consumable subtracts subtracts 1 from the calculation, a three-use consumable adds 1, etc.
    Gotcha. Thanks. So it should read "read the number of uses as an effect instead of a cost, and then subtract the -2 cost for being consumable."

    Leave a comment:


  • Satchel
    replied
    Originally posted by Professor Phobos View Post
    On the "Endowment Creation" chart, there's a two-cross annotation that reads: "If an endowment has an expendable component, such as ammunition, read the number of uses as a cost instead of a refund, and then subtract the -2 refund for being consumable."

    I do not understand this sentence.
    Per the preceding one-cross annotation, circumstances that benefit the player should be read as a positive; accordingly, since more uses is better for the character, "cost" should probably be "value" in the terms on the chart, such that a consumable has a net modifier on the value of the Endowment equal to [number of uses - 2], i.e. a one-use consumable subtracts subtracts 1 from the calculation, a three-use consumable adds 1, etc.

    Leave a comment:


  • Professor Phobos
    replied
    On the "Endowment Creation" chart, there's a two-cross annotation that reads: "If an endowment has an expendable component, such as ammunition, read the number of uses as a cost instead of a refund, and then subtract the -2 refund for being consumable."

    I do not understand this sentence.
    Last edited by Professor Phobos; 07-04-2022, 05:51 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Primordial newcomer
    replied
    As a homerule to the Rite of Hecate, would it be fine to allow for it to take blood Sorcery, werewolf rites, and even things like Changeling Oaths (basically anything that's more about manipulating what isn't necessarily innate, in keeping with the Rite being used to take powers that manipulate the otherworldly)

    Leave a comment:


  • Prince of the Night
    replied
    Am watching the movie "The stepfather" The original wondered is the titular charachter more a Charmer a psycho or what.

    Leave a comment:


  • Michael
    replied
    Originally posted by Prince of the Night View Post
    one 2nd edition thing you cant be a part of two or mor covenant and conspiracys Id enjoy seeing infiltration.
    Unless I've missed something there's no problem with infiltration. It's not a hard rule, it's a feature of the setting that the C&Cs don't allow dual-memberships.

    Leave a comment:


  • Prince of the Night
    replied
    one 2nd edition thing you cant be a part of two or mor covenant and conspiracys Id enjoy seeing infiltration.

    Leave a comment:


  • Michael
    replied
    Originally posted by Prince of the Night View Post
    Taskforce Valkyrie do they join cells openly? Theirs times it might n ot be best to advertise yourself as working for the government. but a lot of their endowments are pretty openly extraordinary
    I think that's up to you. There's always the option of just not answering, or just saying you work for the government, or saying you work for a cover branch of the government. Hunter has always been pretty light on the concrete details of how the various conspiracies actually function.

    Leave a comment:


  • Prince of the Night
    replied
    Taskforce Valkyrie do they join cells openly? Theirs times it might n ot be best to advertise yourself as working for the government. but a lot of their endowments are pretty openly extraordinary

    Leave a comment:


  • ArcaneArts
    replied
    Originally posted by Prince of the Night View Post
    I Have both Promethean the Created and Vampire the Requiem is their a problem with building monsters with their own books rather then with Dread powers.
    Keeping in mind that the Horror Creation Rules tend to hew closer to human characters, no, not really-but games aren't balanced between each other, so if players see a difficulty spike against some splats, that's why.

    Still workable, mind you, outside of the Top Three.

    Leave a comment:


  • Prince of the Night
    replied
    I Have both Promethean the Created and Vampire the Requiem is their a problem with building monsters with their own books rather then with Dread powers.

    Leave a comment:

Working...
X