Hunts of a metaphorical sort

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hunts of a metaphorical sort

Before I start, I guess this is an issue that can be more broadly discussed. So, if any want to speak in more general terms concerning hunts that do not usually end with bodies on the floor, go ahead. I don't mind.

So I started storytelling a Hunter game recently. And one of my players said he'd like his character to have the chance to join the Barret Commission. While I love the Barret Commission, I'm still new to storytelling. More importantly, I struggle on how i should represent the different stakes when a hunter goes from the immediate risk and reward of hunting a monster physically, to taking up the game of finding how far the rabbit hole goes in a game of politics to flush out the "big players" (and the fallout that comes with monster society dealing with that kind of successful hunt). Furthermore, I struggle with representing the 5 stars Division. He's a military brat and I think he'd enjoy seeing that sub faction. Problem is I have a lot of trouble understanding how that division works in comparison to the other 2 (and smaller ones I've made). Of course, this could be me missing the forest for the trees as I usually do having preferred being a PC for so long.

To sum up, I think I know what themes could be explored with the Barret Commission. The paranoia, the disloyalty and shady deals, and the disgusting tendency to treat people as statistics just as much as the monsters, but also their belief PEOPLE, not monsters, should lead society, their drive to rise to the occasion, and the will to sacrifice ones own integrity to better the lives of everyone else. The only issue I have is showing how they hunt. How do they drive out the monsters in the halls of power, what does a successful and failed hunt look like, what is the fallout, and when do they decide they need to get things done the old fashioned way?