Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Paradox...Toothless?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • #46
    The weird thing is how paradox has decreasing returns with containing being a thing. You will never take more than 1L for scouring + (Successes on the Wisdom Roll)B damage.

    This means, e.g. You can use Shifting Sands to go back as far as you want with minimal consequence.
    Last edited by SoulGambit; 03-15-2017, 02:11 PM.

    Comment


    • #47
      Originally posted by SoulGambit View Post
      The weird thing is how paradox has decreasing returns with containing being a thing. You will never take more than 1L for scouring + (Successes on the Wisdom Roll)B damage.

      This means, e.g. You can use Shifting Sands to go back as far as you want with minimal consequence.
      Well. "Minimal."


      Resident Sanguinary Analyst
      Currently Consuming: Changeling: the Lost 1e

      Comment


      • #48
        Pretty much only times when we see Releasing Paradox is in case of character that explicitly wants to be Low Wisdom selfish princess teenager character, who hates idea of feeling pain and is self taught Nameless Mage. It leads mostly to frustration due to having to constantly sacrifice two or three dice on "safety wrapping" so the spells will have a sensible chance to success. Which means people also never want to risk Releasing Paradox when they can't just the spell over and over, for example in combat.

        Comment


        • #49
          I feel like it's like whining that you are not a good weight lifter by RAW. You are not suppose to but you can take some skill dots, merits and be "this guy who lifts refrigerator above head".


          [2E] Moinen's Homebrew Hub

          Comment


          • #50
            Satchel Paradox Conditions in the latest version of the pdf list scouring them as a a way to resolve them specifically.
            Last edited by SoulGambit; 03-15-2017, 04:45 PM.

            Comment


            • #51
              Originally posted by SoulGambit View Post
              Satchel Paradox Conditions in the latest version of the pdf list scouring them as a a way to resolve them specifically.
              He knows that, but note you can only Scour -after- letting the Condition lapse which takes a variable amount of time depending on Wisdom. In other words, yes you could go back as far as you want with Shifting Sands, but if you insisted on Scouring the resulting Paradox Condition then you'd have to wait a certain amount of time in order for it lapse first during which time you'd be saddled with the Paradox Condition. So yes, 1 L + X B, but also Paradox Condition for the duration -that's- the minimal cost.
              Last edited by Mrmdubois; 03-15-2017, 04:59 PM.

              Comment


              • #52
                Originally posted by SoulGambit View Post
                Satchel Paradox Conditions in the latest version of the pdf list scouring them as a a way to resolve them specifically.
                Yes. I'm saying that's pretty evidently an error, because the introductory paragraph only lists lapsing and the specific criterion of a particular Condition as means of resolution and there's otherwise no actual point in scaling their Duration.

                The errata pass missed some stuff (Ghost Shield's Primary Factor is consistent with the broad Protection guideline in the Creative Thaumaturgy process but inconsistent with Mental Shield's and Ephemeral Shield's Primary Factors despite their base functions being mechanically near-identical, for instance), which is to be expected when you're dealing with a 350-page book with lots of interconnected systems. It's necessary to use some critical thinking.


                Resident Sanguinary Analyst
                Currently Consuming: Changeling: the Lost 1e

                Comment

                Working...
                X