Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Questions about stacking

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Questions about stacking

    There are some spells that increase someone's Withstand against specific spells, such as Wards and Signs. Do these effects stack with the target's own Withstand, so if a person already has Resolve 3 against an incoming spell and is also under the effect of a Potency 3 Wards and Signs would get a total Withstand of 6? Or is it just the higher of the two?

    Second question. The fourth attainment of Death forces a clash of wills with anyone who'd try to affect the soul of the mage. The spell Soul Armor has the same effect. The rules say that Attainments and spells stack, or at least Legacy Attainments. Would these two effects stack in some way? For example a +2 to the Clash of Wills roll?

  • #2
    1.) Multiple Withstand ratings always use the highest Withstand and increases that by one for each additional Withstand. Your example would have a Withstand rating of 4.
    2.) There are no specific rules for multiple CoWs, so each CoW should be resolved normally, meaning separately and with no effect on each other.


    Bloodline: The Stygians
    Ordo Dracul Mysteries: Mystery of Smoke, Revised Mystery of Živa
    Mage The Awakening: Spell Quick Reference (single page and landscape for computer screens)

    Comment


    • #3
      Technically, the effects of Inviolate Soul are broader than the effects of Soul Armor which doesn't protect your Nimbus or aura and doesn't block possession. Also what Tessie said, each CoW would resolve separately, and they're entirely correct on the first question.

      Comment


      • #4
        Thank you for the answers!

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by Tessie View Post
          1.) Multiple Withstand ratings always use the highest Withstand and increases that by one for each additional Withstand. Your example would have a Withstand rating of 4.
          Am I then correct to assume that a person with 3 Withstand who is the target of a Potency 1 Wards and Signs also will get Withstand 4?

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by Aristarkos View Post

            Am I then correct to assume that a person with 3 Withstand who is the target of a Potency 1 Wards and Signs also will get Withstand 4?
            Yes, they will get withstand 4 all the way up to a potency 3 wards and signs spell. Soon as its potency 4 then they will have a withstand of 5.

            Comment

            Working...
            X