Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ask a simple question, Awakened edition

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Do spells cast from an imbued item follow the standard rules for spells? IE: time, free reach (determined by item or user?), yantras, factors etc.

    Comment


    • Originally posted by Mr.F.I.X. View Post
      Do spells cast from an imbued item follow the standard rules for spells? IE: time, free reach (determined by item or user?), yantras, factors etc.
      Spells cast from a imbued item dont get access to yantras (actually doesnt say either way much like most of the imbued item text) but can use spell factors and there is also no mention of what they use for reach (since sleepers without gnosis can use them i assume they get one free reach like artifacts but that users can over reach freely).

      No access to yantras or extra ritual casting means imbued items have a really low dicepool (esp for sleeper use) and having many spell factors means a terrible casting dicepool.
      Last edited by totalgit; 12-02-2017, 07:32 PM.

      Comment


      • Originally posted by totalgit View Post

        Spells cast from a imbued item dont get access to yantras (actually doesnt say either way much like most of the imbued item text) but can use spell factors and there is also no mention of what they use for reach (since sleepers without gnosis can use them i assume they get one free reach like artifacts but that users can over reach freely).

        No access to yantras or extra ritual casting means imbued items have a really low dicepool (esp for sleeper use) and having many spell factors means a terrible casting dicepool.
        Are you sure? It says you cast the spell but doesn't give exceptions to the standard rules. It says paradox are incured by sleepers as a gnosis 1 mage for over reaching so it seems to be more likely to follow standard rule except you use the item's arcanum rating not your own and you can use it without gnosis.

        Comment


        • Originally posted by Mr.F.I.X. View Post

          Are you sure? It says you cast the spell but doesn't give exceptions to the standard rules. It says paradox are incured by sleepers as a gnosis 1 mage for over reaching so it seems to be more likely to follow standard rule except you use the item's arcanum rating not your own and you can use it without gnosis.

          Tbh, nobody is exactly sure (except DaveB). How would a item be able to use high speech, or a mudra on its own exactly. If the intention was that the user can use any yantra's they know while using the imbued item then it isnt mentioned, perhaps it was one of those things that seem obvious.

          The imbued item stuff needs a FAQ and/or Signs and Sigils, till then you are going to have to just wing it. The intention might be that having the imbued item means the user gets access to everything a mage able to cast the spell himself has access too, which brings in yantra's, extra ritual time and stuff, with non mages assumed to have gnosis 1 for number of yantra bonuses..

          Comment


          • Originally posted by Flinty View Post

            Being good at Prime doesn't make you good at countering, it merely enables you to do it to every spell instead of just your own nieche.
            Umm, that *is* what I meant by better. We really do have different ideas on what constitutes ‘better’ and ‘stronger,’ don’t we?

            And honestly dispelling spells is laughably easy since you don't even need to beat the spell in a CoW, you merely need to overcome the Arcanum rating as a withstand. And withstand is at best a speedbump, never really an unsurmountable obstacle. (Especially if you just pick up Dispellation as a rote or praxis).
            That I won’t deny... but honestly, it’s not like every mage invests in Prime. If Counterspell’s all you’ve got, well, better to use it.


            MtAw Homebrew: Even more Legacies, updated to 2E

            Comment


            • Are "Imperial Mysteries" compatible with the new edition? Is some sourcebook covering Arcana 6+ still planned to be published in some distant future for the second edition?

              Comment


              • Originally posted by Lanic View Post
                Are "Imperial Mysteries" compatible with the new edition? Is some sourcebook covering Arcana 6+ still planned to be published in some distant future for the second edition?
                It’s compatible in terms of the general ideas in IM, but out of date in terms of specific mechanics. I don’t think there’s any plans to add any more books on archmastery.

                Comment


                • according to the current projects page:

                  Signs of Sorcery: This book covers the physical, tangible expressions of magic: Sacraments, Magical Tools, Grimoires, and more, as well as the creations of archmages. 120 pages. PDF/PoD.

                  Comment


                  • That's specifically going to be archmaster stuff as plot fuel though, rather than focusing on clarifying how archmastery works in 2e. I know Dave has expressed that he wishes to move archmastery back to the realm of plot related stuff for Mage.

                    Comment


                    • when first creating a mage character, what books are required to understand the character creation process? the main concept for him is that he's a young wannabe magician that ends up becoming awaken.

                      Comment


                      • Originally posted by fruity20 View Post
                        when first creating a mage character, what books are required to understand the character creation process? the main concept for him is that he's a young wannabe magician that ends up becoming awaken.
                        You only need the corebook: Mage the Awakening Fallen World Chronicles.
                        Last edited by Mrmdubois; 12-05-2017, 11:25 AM.

                        Comment


                        • Originally posted by Mrmdubois View Post

                          You only need the corebook: Mage the Awakening Fallen World Chronicles.
                          like the 2nd edtion?

                          Comment


                          • Originally posted by fruity20 View Post
                            like the 2nd edtion?
                            The book by that name is 2e, yeah.

                            Comment


                            • The book is only named Mage the Awakening Second Edition, and it's the only book needed for playing Mage second edition.
                              Fallen World Chronicles would be the subtitle if Mage 2e was released before the 2e rebranding. Now it's only referred to in the title of the associated fiction collection The Fallen World Chronicle Anthology.


                              Bloodline: The Stygians
                              Ordo Dracul Mystery: Coil of Smoke

                              Comment


                              • Thanks for the clarification, I keep forgetting they dropped the subtitle.

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X