Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ask a simple question, Awakened edition

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Why can Devouring the Slain (Death 3, Fraying) deal lethal damage? I thought you needed an Unraveling Practice for that.

    Comment


    • Originally posted by taralx View Post
      Why can Devouring the Slain (Death 3, Fraying) deal lethal damage? I thought you needed an Unraveling Practice for that.
      It's a Death spell that works by Scouring an injured subject's Pattern. Casting Withering, for contrast, doesn't take two extra Reach to affect multiple fresh targets in a day.


      Resident Lore-Hound
      Currently Consuming: Demon: the Descent 1e

      Comment


      • Originally posted by taralx View Post
        Is there a reason why Transubstantiation (Matter 4) doesn't have a Lasting option? Would it break things to add it?
        Almost all 4 dots spells lack a lasting option. Once you reach the 4th and 5th dots the changes you introduce by casting a spell are so large and dramatic they start to require an upkeep even if the result isn't necessarily supernatural in nature.


        Bloodline: The Stygians
        Ordo Dracul Mysteries: Mystery of Smoke, Revised Mystery of Živa
        Mage The Awakening: Spell Quick Reference (single page and landscape for computer screens)

        Comment


        • So for a Mystery in where multiple Arcana is used, say Prime and Forces for instance, but the mage using focused mage sight only got Prime, it seems like just the Opacity is higher or is there something else? It seems like it's just harder without understanding the pieces, but still allows for the mage with only Prime to fill out the Forces gaps and still get Deep information and such when he solves it? Or?

          Comment


          • Originally posted by Poseur View Post
            So for a Mystery in where multiple Arcana is used, say Prime and Forces for instance, but the mage using focused mage sight only got Prime, it seems like just the Opacity is higher or is there something else? It seems like it's just harder without understanding the pieces, but still allows for the mage with only Prime to fill out the Forces gaps and still get Deep information and such when he solves it? Or?
            I'm pretty sure there's a mechanic to clue a Mage into what arcana he's missing to be able to use Scrutiny, but other than that the Mage will be stumped. Alternatively, you could decide what the Mystery has more of, Prime or Forces, and then let him Scrutinize the Prime part and give incomplete information and not allow them to reduce Opacity to 0, I'd probably go with the second route personally.

            Comment


            • You always know if you're about to risk a paradox. Do other mages sense if you risked paradox when you cast a spell? If not, can they with Mage Sight? And if not, can they with a Prime spell?

              Comment


              • Originally posted by Scarlet Witch View Post
                You always know if you're about to risk a paradox. Do other mages sense if you risked paradox when you cast a spell? If not, can they with Mage Sight? And if not, can they with a Prime spell?
                I think a Prime Knowing spell could reveal they’re putting together something more complicated than they can handle. Mage Sight would only be useful to study the aftermath, it’s not predictive it’s analytical and Paradox or risk thereof doesn’t actually exist until just before the spell is cast and occurs faster or as fast as Reflexive actions.

                Comment


                • Originally posted by Scarlet Witch View Post
                  You always know if you're about to risk a paradox. Do other mages sense if you risked paradox when you cast a spell? If not, can they with Mage Sight? And if not, can they with a Prime spell?
                  Maaaybe the Display of Power spell could, since it reveals the Imago as it is being formed, and over-Reaching could show up there. Even if it does, however, I doubt that Paradox from Sleeper presence, inuring, etc will show up.

                  Perhaps the Scelesti know a thing or two.


                  MtAw Homebrew:
                  Even more Legacies, updated to 2E
                  New 2E Legacies, expanded

                  Comment


                  • So all yantras need semiotic symbolism, that far is pretty clear.
                    The orders have different tools they teach their members to use as Yantras, ergo Order Tools. These must be linked to their understanding as well to the spell in use.
                    The description says the following for the Diamond Orders:
                    "The formal magical
                    style of the Diamond Orders and the Seers of the Throne all
                    resonate through the same tools — the Arrow uses martial Tools
                    as symbols of conflict; the Guardians use cloaks, masks, and
                    veils as symbols of things hidden and revealed; the Mysterium
                    teaches books, writing, and language as Tools of knowledge and
                    communication; and the Silver Ladder uses signs of authority to
                    as Tools of status and persuasion."

                    So far so good, a Silver Ladder mage can use a police badge for a spell to grant him access somewhere or a Arrow may use a literal shield to ward against incoming attacks or a Guardian may use a surgeon mask to give him self incognito presence in the hospital and so forth...

                    What are the symbolism for the free council?
                    It says:
                    "The Free Council are an oddity among all the other Orders.
                    While every Libertine may use complex mechanisms and systems
                    as Order Tools"

                    Sure i get what "complex mechanisms and systems" means but what are they symbols of, can they use an appropriate system for any spell as long as they can find meaning behind it?
                    Like can all Libertines use for say for instance, bureaucratic forms as an Order Tool for use in a spell that makes their subject confused or a wifi-router to make a telepathy spell toward someone on the other side of the globe (with sympathy and such ofc) as bureaucracy is strongly symbolic with confusion and wifi-routers are symbolic means of communication?
                    Or what are the Libertines Order Tools supposed to do?



                    Edit:
                    Also, why is Techné actually worth 2 exp? I can't seem to get that one.
                    Last edited by Poseur; 04-05-2018, 07:30 PM.

                    Comment


                    • Originally posted by Poseur View Post
                      Sure i get what "complex mechanisms and systems" means but what are they symbols of, can they use an appropriate system for any spell as long as they can find meaning behind it?
                      Like can all Libertines use for say for instance, bureaucratic forms as an Order Tool for use in a spell that makes their subject confused or a wifi-router to make a telepathy spell toward someone on the other side of the globe (with sympathy and such ofc) as bureaucracy is strongly symbolic with confusion and wifi-routers are symbolic means of communication?
                      Or what are the Libertines Order Tools supposed to do?
                      See the Order's Magical Symbolism writeup on page 51.

                      Edit:
                      Also, why is Techné actually worth 2 exp? I can't seem to get that one.
                      It gives you an extra pair of Order Tools that you can choose with relative freedom, as well as the ability to get 8-Again on spellcasting without relying on the aid of discrete spells. That's three different effects — what's confusing about that costing more than one dot?


                      Resident Lore-Hound
                      Currently Consuming: Demon: the Descent 1e

                      Comment


                      • Originally posted by Satchel View Post
                        See the Order's Magical Symbolism writeup on page 51.

                        It gives you an extra pair of Order Tools that you can choose with relative freedom, as well as the ability to get 8-Again on spellcasting without relying on the aid of discrete spells. That's three different effects — what's confusing about that costing more than one dot?

                        So: "tool of wonder, humanity’s reach exceeding its imagination" is that what their yantras can be used for? Or am I missing the point?

                        Yeah it's an order tool or actually two if you include some sleepers, so for two yantra slots you get two dice, if you use the focus as well as sleepers, as long as the spell ain't obvious and if you get more mages with both the merit and the same focus the leader get 8 again.

                        It just seems expensive and of very limited use. Why not just buy a fitting shadow name and use the focus as part of it for the same experience and you get two dice on almost all spells that falls into the theme of the name and you don't need some overly complex situation to fix the spell. And you get an free yantra slot you could use as well, giving at least one die on the roll and maybe more. Sure you miss the few times the 8 again on teamwork could be applicable.

                        Comment


                        • Originally posted by Poseur View Post
                          So: "tool of wonder, humanity’s reach exceeding its imagination" is that what their yantras can be used for? Or am I missing the point?
                          The entire deal with Tool Yantras is that they help spells whose effects are associated with what those tools do, and a generalist Libertine has the benefit of treating things like computers and astrology as specialist tools without needing particular investment. Their Instruments can be used for the things they can be used for, and the draw of techné is that that is a lot of different things, depending on the specific tool.

                          Yeah it's an order tool or actually two if you include some sleepers, so for two yantra slots you get two dice, if you use the focus as well as sleepers, as long as the spell ain't obvious and if you get more mages with both the merit and the same focus the leader get 8 again.
                          Yantras worth more than one die without a limitation or cost are thin on the ground and being able to use your hobbyist cliques to manage low-key magic better is inherently geared toward having the spaces where those specialties are relevant be important to the character.

                          It just seems expensive and of very limited use.
                          It's two dots.

                          For the same price Adamant Hand gives you the ability to spend three turns punching people and cast on the fourth turn as though you had spent those turns gesturing with a knife and stave in a magic system where this doesn't help the inbuilt drawbacks of casting on a timescale measured in seconds.

                          For the same price a Guardian can get as little back as another extra Virtue and Vice that they have to become a different person to benefit from.

                          For the same price a théarch can get a set of benefits that only help them in the particular field of "being part of the magical legal apparatus that arbitrates between local mages."

                          Two dots is the standard cost for most core Order Merits that aren't Egregore or Prelacy or the spine of all the Masques a Guardian has.

                          Why not just buy a fitting shadow name and use the focus as part of it for the same experience and you get two dice on almost all spells that falls into the theme of the name and you don't need some overly complex situation to fix the spell.
                          You can't buy an arbitrarily large number of separate Shadow Names.

                          And you get an free yantra slot you could use as well, giving at least one die on the roll and maybe more. Sure you miss the few times the 8 again on teamwork could be applicable.
                          Raw mechanical utility is not the purpose of most Awakened Merits.
                          Last edited by Satchel; 04-06-2018, 12:30 AM.


                          Resident Lore-Hound
                          Currently Consuming: Demon: the Descent 1e

                          Comment


                          • You totally can buy an arbitrarily large number of Shadow Names, by the way.

                            Comment


                            • Originally posted by HerbertIsBestBert View Post
                              You totally can buy an arbitrarily large number of Shadow Names, by the way.
                              "One" is not a number of separate Shadow Names, and if you were meant to be able to get more than one then it would have the same rider clause that Alternate Identity includes — and Mage's copy of Alternate Identity specifically differentiates an Alternate Identity from a Shadow Name, so it's clearly not just a matter of the text being duplicated from a non-Mage book and so not including considerations for its use in Mage.


                              Resident Lore-Hound
                              Currently Consuming: Demon: the Descent 1e

                              Comment


                              • Originally posted by Satchel View Post
                                "One" is not a number of separate Shadow Names, and if you were meant to be able to get more than one then it would have the same rider clause that Alternate Identity includes — and Mage's copy of Alternate Identity specifically differentiates an Alternate Identity from a Shadow Name, so it's clearly not just a matter of the text being duplicated from a non-Mage book and so not including considerations for its use in Mage.
                                3/3/2017, on 4chan's /tg/ board, DaveB answered a couple of questions on Shadow Names

                                ">DaveB, if you're still around, would it be possible for a mage to have 2 shadow names?
                                Yeah, just buy the Merit multiple times

                                > How much Space would it be required to alter a Shadow Name and/or confer an additional one? Making? Dominions? Entities?
                                Wouldn't say Space. A Shadow Name's just something you call yourself - the Merit represents it starting to resonante Supernally over time, such that you can use it as a Yantra. I would say Prime. Possibly archmaster-y."

                                So yeah, you can totally have 4, 3-dot merits for
                                "The Angel of Destruction", "The Wise Old Witch", "She who waits in Shadows", and "The Mystic Leader of Mankind"
                                It's having at least one Shadow Name which grants your normal life protection from your Nimbus.
                                Nothing says you can't cultivate multiple separate personas.
                                I imagine many Guardians do, given the 5-dot Masque benefit can grant a Shadow Name.

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X