Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ask a simple question, Awakened edition

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • #61
    You can use Forces to ionize a gas through a couple different methods that mirror the mundane techniques, and you can probably use one of the top levels of Matter to decrease the temperature at which a gas will reach the threshold of heat-induced ionization.

    Comment


    • #62
      Maybe Weaving or Patterning to change the pressure and/or temperature needed for an state shift? Sounds doable but I have no idea about how to measure the Potency of the effect.


      I'm So Meta Even This Acronym

      Comment


      • #63
        I'd use the same scale that lower-dot Forces spells use to spend successes on degrees of air temperature change. It's going to demand more than, say, turning a room into an oven, but I don't know the details relevant to this phase transition.

        Comment


        • #64
          Q. Could an archmaster teach the 6th dot in an arcana to a normal mage? I was looking at pg. 132 in the core and it made me wonder.


          Comment


          • #65
            Originally posted by Michael View Post
            Q. Could an archmaster teach the 6th dot in an arcana to a normal mage? I was looking at pg. 132 in the core and it made me wonder.
            In my games, I don't let this happen, at least not directly. An archmage could guide you to your threshold seeking, which can then let you achieve your 6th dot, but all the rules seem to point out that anything beyond 5 dots requires archmastery first. I always consider that the 6th-10th dots of arcana require a a proper Centinami acquired through a construction of a Golden Road. So, an archmage can teach a 6th dot to a normal mage... by teaching him how to become an archmage. That said, I think it comes down to your ST, and how you want to interpret the rules for your own game.

            Comment


            • #66
              Originally posted by Michael View Post
              Q. Could an archmaster teach the 6th dot in an arcana to a normal mage? I was looking at pg. 132 in the core and it made me wonder.
              Become Archmage is more than "learning", obtain a sixth dot in an Arcanum and get the Archmaster Template request to broke the Threshold, you change the universe to allow your archmaster-hood.

              Of course, a Archmaster can help a Seeker. (in the limits of the Pax Arcanum)

              So for me (and I think canonically), you cannot makes a Archmaster so directly; although personnaly I think it's technicaly possible but with nothing less than a 10th spell to grant archmastery in the corresponding arcanum. (rewrite the laws of reality/arcanum to allow his archmastery in a similar way to the Threshold.)

              Comment


              • #67
                That's the thing, it wouldn't be giving them the archmaster template, they'd still be a normal mage, just with a sixth dot.

                I always consider that the 6th-10th dots of arcana require a a proper Centinami acquired through a construction of a Golden Road.
                That's a pretty reasonable assumption.


                Comment


                • #68
                  Official answer: No. The 6s on the corebook's Gnosis chart are the result of not having worked out all the details of archmastery at time of writing. Fallen World's version of it will only go up to 5.


                  Dave Brookshaw

                  Comment


                  • #69
                    Wait, so in FWC will there still be Gnosis 10 Mages who aren't arch-masters? I know it's been mentioned a few times that Gnosis 10 doesn't necessarily imply arch-mastery, but now I'm confused from the last couple posts

                    Comment


                    • #70
                      He's referring to the arcana mastery table on pg.76 of the corebook. It says that Gnosis 6 magi can learn a 6th dot in an arcana. That's no longer going to be the case because you need to gain the Archmaster template as of IM.


                      Comment


                      • #71
                        Originally posted by Michael View Post
                        That's the thing, it wouldn't be giving them the archmaster template, they'd still be a normal mage, just with a sixth dot.
                        Sleepers cannot learn the five first dots of the arcana because you have to be a mage by definition.
                        It is the same for 6+ dots; you have to be a archmaster. (even if technicaly, you get the archmaster template and the sixth dot together)

                        Comment


                        • #72
                          Sleepers cannot learn the five first dots of the arcana because you have to be a mage by definition.
                          It is the same for 6+ dots; you have to be a archmaster.
                          That's an implied definition which the actual rules don't synch up with, due to as DaveB said, the core and IM being written years apart. The arcana mastery table says you can do exactly that when you have gnosis 6.

                          Now, you'd still lack a golden road to cast imperial practices and you wouldn't have all the features of the Archmaster template, but there are a few little grey areas you would get access to like advanced prolongation on 5-dot spells which could be kinda cool.

                          Funny thing is, I originally meant this as a bit of idle curiosity about an interesting rules discrepancy but I kinda like the idea now.


                          Comment


                          • #73
                            Originally posted by Michael View Post
                            He's referring to the arcana mastery table on pg.76 of the corebook. It says that Gnosis 6 magi can learn a 6th dot in an arcana. That's no longer going to be the case because you need to gain the Archmaster template as of IM.
                            Ah, okay. I see it now. Thanks

                            Comment


                            • #74
                              Is there a place where I can find more info on Abyssal Verges? I've heard the term mentioned here and there but can't seem to find substantial info on the concept.


                              Call me Count .

                              Comment


                              • #75
                                We've mentioned them occassionally throughout the game line, but they've never been described! They had to be cut from Left Hand Path for space. Mage is sometimes odd about what got picked up and expanded on and what didn't - it took until Imperial Mysteries to actually describe what the Abyss looks like "inside".

                                Basically, they're Verges to the Abyss. Think an Anomaly, but bigger, spawning Gulmoth, and if you can survive going "through" them you end up in the Abyss. They're on the list of things to describe in Fallen World Chronicle, and we'll try not to cut them for space this time.


                                Dave Brookshaw

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X