System Complexity

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• System Complexity

I really like 2e, but one area where I feel it's taken a step backwards is with regards to complexity.

As a Mage veteran I love the changes, but I've introduced 6 people to 2e that never played 1e and to say that the system is daunting would be an understatement.

It would be nice to hear from other players about how they deal with this issue.

One thing I've done:

I've done away with basic free Reach and made all spells instant by default and allow +1 Reach for ritual magic. I don't understand why this was done the way it was. Players at the table expect instant spells and to explain that you're giving them a free Reach just to take it away for instant casting is confusing and pointless IMO.

I use quick and dirty where possible, but it's really not that quick when you still have to calculate Reach.

The fact that Reach changes ranges and advanced tables and then you need to figure out penalties to move within tables and then get Yantras into the mix gets a little complicated for almost all new players.

I've never had a player click with the system yet even after 5 sessions in one 3 player group and 3 sessions in the other 3 player group.

Thoughts?

Players at the table expect instant spells and to explain that you're giving them a free Reach just to take it away for instant casting is confusing and pointless IMO.
    I suggested that was the case for most people not long ago in another thread and was talked out of the conversation by very offended Mage Fans. I expect them to either ignore this thread or jump to your throat until you realize oh how wrong you are and stop complaining since they don't see it as a problem. I hope I am wrong, but I don't have high hopes for polite conversation in the Mage part of the forums anymore.

I'm So Meta Even This Acronym

Comment

I’m not sure you could create a system like this without such a level of complexity.