Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Thoughts on an item

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Thoughts on an item

    Let's suppose a mage creates an item with Sacred Geometry cast on it, and Channel Mana imbued into it with the trigger condition of "Sacred Geometry says you're in a Hallow." Would this item then be able to recharge itself? Presumably the item would have some other imbued spell to actually use the mana.

  • #2
    It could only siphon mana from the Hallow if it was actually in a Hallow, but it could draw the Hallow's daily allotment of mana to itself. Technically, it could also target any tass lying around generated by the Hallow. This may or may not be enough to replenish its reserves.

    Comment


    • #3
      Well of course; that's why it needs Sacred Geometry to know it's in a Hallow.

      Comment


      • #4
        Unfortunately it might not be possible to Imbue an item to autocast the spell. The rules states that a user must activate it. On the other hand, the activation might not require any effort or even intent by the user, meaning a mage (or their Sleepwalker servant) could wear it and trigger it each time they enter a Hallow.


        Bloodline: The Stygians
        Ordo Dracul Mysteries: Mystery of Smoke, Revised Mystery of Živa
        Mage The Awakening: Spell Quick Reference (single page and landscape for computer screens)

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by Tessie View Post
          Unfortunately it might not be possible to Imbue an item to autocast the spell. The rules states that a user must activate it. On the other hand, the activation might not require any effort or even intent by the user, meaning a mage (or their Sleepwalker servant) could wear it and trigger it each time they enter a Hallow.
          I suppose one question is: does it require a sentient user? Or can you rig it to a switch and a drinking bird toy?


          Malkydel: "And the Machine dictated; let there be adequate illumination."
          Yossarian: "And lo, it was optimal."

          Comment


          • #6
            Looking the pdf while typing this, the Channel Mana Item as originally suggested might not require Sacred Geometry at all to tell itself it's in a Hallow. I don't see anything about contingent triggers of Imbued Items requiring intent. (It says "triggered by a word, gesture, or condition.")

            EDIT: Oops, Tessie already said it in their third sentence.

            EDIT: Actually, the bigger question is; can an Imbued Item have multiple triggers in the first place? RAW says it has a single spell, which naturally means a single trigger. Even if we pass the one-spell limitation via combining spells into one, there's still the question of whether each of the component spells can have separate triggers.
            Last edited by 21C Hermit; 06-24-2018, 08:48 AM.


            MtAw Homebrew:
            Even more Legacies, updated to 2E
            New 2E Legacies, expanded

            Comment

            Working...
            X