A few questions I had about certain things in the 2e core book

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A few questions I had about certain things in the 2e core book

Hello, and thanks for stopping by my thread. I am fairly new to mage, but have read the core book twice so I have a solid grasp of most facets of the game I think (at least mechanically), and I'm currently working my way through some of the other supplemental mage books from 1e.
    That being said, a few things bother me in the 2e core book, and I'd like to ask your guy's take on some of them.

First, I have a few questions regarding some of the published spells and how the way they are written seems to ignore the guidelines for practices laid out in creative thaumaturgy, or in some cases even violate the spell casting rules entirely.
    An example of the former would be the Death 2 spell "Ectoplasm". The spell states that the practicing is ruling, but it seems to me that randomly spewing ectoplasm is not something that a body ever does, so wouldn't this be more akin to a higher practice? Additionally, since to my knowledge bodies don't spew ectoplasm, why does it have to be a body? why couldn't it be a teapot or from the keyhole of a door? Heck, why does it have to be an orifice at all? As far as I can tell, that stipulation is there to distinguish it from the Making practice, but I'm having trouble understanding why the stipulations are what they are. Why does is function this way? (This also begs the question of what IS ectoplasm in the first place, and what are its uses? The book seems to make no mention of it outside of the death spells that let you use it. Is it material? Does it only affect things in twilight? To my understanding ghosts are made of ephemera, not ectoplasm so it doesn't let you mess with them directly, so where does ectoplasm occur in the CoD world naturally?)