Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How would YOU design this spell?

Hello!

Yesterday I was having a conversation with some pals about the game (I'm still learning it) and we tried designing some spells for fun. Some were quite obvious, but some I don't know what would be the proper way to model them, or if they are even possible. Any comments would be very welcome!

- Protection from guns: "Something that protects a friend from bullets unless that friend lies to you."
    We wanted to use Fate, so maybe Fare 2 (ruling / protecting) "guns will jam when shooting at you". Add conditional duration (Infrequent) "until you lie to me". Indefinite duration, so be careful because it'll count against your active spells in the future.

- You never existed: "I want to kill you in the past and everything will work as if you had never existed".
    I don't even know. It sounds like Level 4 (Fraying), maybe Life, maybe Prime (destroying the soul), maybe both? The idea is to create a spell that erases you know and cast it at your past either with time (how?) or with temporal sympathy. Maybe you need as much potency as hit points the target has? I don't know, everything I can model sounds broken. Then there's also the addendum "And everything will work as if you had never existed". Maybe if you cast it at the target's past self, it'll automatically work like this?

- Rain of furious raccoons: "just as the title says"
    Sounds like life 5 (creation), with duration as a primary factor, easily swapped to Scale for more area with +1 reach). "Raining raccoons" instead of "raccoons just appearing out of nowhere" seems like mostly a cosmetic thing so nothing else required. Just for fun, if you wanted the rain to stop after a minute but the raccoons to be permanent, would it be a combined spell or just indefinite duration?