Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Mage the Awakening

Hey guys,

about Archmages and Imperial Practices in 2nd Edition. Should I consider a thing? I know the Corebook mention Archmasters, but a thought was more as a Plot Device. After that I discovered the 1st Edition Book and some people converting for 2nd Edition. But I think how splats interact in 2nd Edition is different in how they used to interact in 1st Edition. One example is Blood Potency, who use to go up just with diablerie and time, and now you can increase with experience.

I'm new to Storytelling in general, and I'm not saying is wrong or anything like that, I just wanna know. And sorry for any mistake, English is not my first language

First off, welcome!

I personally recommend that you don't bother with Archmages and Imperial magic for a while if you are new to Mage the Awakening. The themes and ideas of Mage are complicated enough without adding in the complexity and strangeness of archmages.

Comment

Even in first edition, having Gnosis 6 does not make you an archmaster. Even when a mage has Gnosis 10 the maximum level of their Arcana is 5.

Archmasters aren't, strictly speaking, mages any more. There's a transformation (called a Threshold Seeking) a very powerful mage can attempt to become one, but they have to figure out how by themselves.

The only reason you need concern yourself with the Imperial Practices for is if you insist on properly calculating the Merit cost of an Artifact that does something the regular practices can't.

Dave Brookshaw

Comment

Originally posted by ImortalKiller View Post
        about Archmages and Imperial Practices in 2nd Edition. Should I consider a thing?
        The sourcebook Imperial Mysteries is interesting, but a bit marginal as far as the game goes. Much of its more interesting ideas, like Emanations and Qliphoth, were made more accessible by the time the Second Edition core came up.