How flexible/dramatic are Nimbuses?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How flexible/dramatic are Nimbuses?

Nimbi? I'm not good with fancy plurals. Anyway, are there limits to how you can narrate a Nimbus manifesting? Could it appear as a ghostly figure that steps forward and casts the spell? Could it appear as a phantasmal creature representing the spell? Could it cause armor or weapons to appear on the Mage as a representation of the spell's effect? As a very specific example, could I narrate that an Obrimos forces spell issues forth from an array of shimmering golden cannons that fire with the sounds of trumpets, instead of just happening?

It is my understanding that a Nimbus represents the Mage, not the spell cast so it probably wouldn't change much to reflect spells in effect. Other than that I think the only limitation is that it is a local phenomenon centered on the Mage. There have been examples of visual manifestations like your armor and weapons, of sounds such as screaming or Gregorian Chant, smells such as brimstone or honeysuckle, all meant to reflect the nature of the Mage himself.
    To me it sounds like second edition actually asks for two variations on your nimbus, one with a positive effect and one threatening and negative. Still not sure about that though.
    Last edited by 2ptTakrill; 09-15-2016, 08:22 PM.

Comment

Yeah, a Nimbus isn't an effect of the spell being cast, its an effect that always accompanies your mage and flares depending on what you're doing. There are basically three types of Nimbus associated with your characters. A Long-term Nimbus, an Immediate Nimbus and a Signature Nimbus.