What if a Werewolf is embraced?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What if a Werewolf is embraced?

I'm totally new to COfD, and while I know of abominations in the cWOD, I don't know if there are rules for a thing like an abomination in COfD

My English sucks. Sorry.

By default, Major templates don't stack. The werewolf would be dead.

That said, the Chronicles of Darkness are full of unknown magics and strange creatures and strange hybrids may be possible (mostly as NPCs). The Strix Synthesis ability is explicitly an avenue for this in the core book.

Comment

What Maina said. There is no standard template for a mixture between a werewolf and a vampire, and at least as of first edition, the default assumption is the werewolf dies when you drain all the blood from her, but the Embrace doesn't take when you fill it with your vitae, and you're just left with a corpse. The nWoD/CofD is filled with exception cases and strange mysteries, so never say never, but any "crossbreed" is probably going to be the unique result of extraordinary circumstances, and would probably be some homebrew entity with more particular traits than simply stacking one template on top of the other.

Comment

The ban on template stacking hasn't been reintroduced in 2E, and Dev comments in the Changeling Kickstarter have clarified that this is intentional - there's no longer a 'rule' against it.
        If it makes a good story, go for it.

In the interest of having a good discussion, we should probably not force 'the werewolf would die' on OP as it's no longer necessarily accurate and also the most boring option.

OP, I would look at the Admonitoria, which is unofficial content by a former OPP writer about a mixed Changeling/Vampire splat for inspiration. Alternatively, if it works better for you, the werewolf would die, or just become a vampire with an appropriately strange Bloodline.

Editing in the full quote so that my own interpretations of intent don't throw people off: