Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Requiem for Rome and Academic Research - Volunteers Needed!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Requiem for Rome and Academic Research - Volunteers Needed!

Hello everyone!

Please allow me a moment of your time, as I present myself, talk about my research and how some of you might help me a lot.

My name is Nelson Bondioli, I have a Phd in History (Ancient History), most of my research up to now was on Roman Religion and Roman Identity. .
    In August, however, I'll be starting a postdoc with a new research topic which is the Reception of the Roman Past in "Recent" Pop Culture. Being a RPG player myself, one of the "materials" I'll be using in my research is, as you might`ve guessed, Requiem for Rome.

What does it means?

Basically, over the course of the next 18 months, I'll be reading the source book, looking for how different elements of the Roman Past (ancient authors, characters, topics, tropes, etc) have been thought, rearrenged and re-presented at this specific place in time (21st. century), creating a narrative about the past that, in many ways, informs a lot of people about it, sometimes even competing with academic knowledge.

Part of my attention will be on how these narratives (academic and non-academic) have varying degrees of proximity and distance, why certain narratives and views about the Roman
    past are privileged over others in pop culture, and what role does historiography play in determining such narratives.

Take note, however, that this is a completely non-judgemental approach. Meaning that, I am not interested - at all - in ideas of right and wrong, factual or fiction events etc, but I'm rather interested on the"why"; why certain things appear the way they do and not in some other fashion.

How can you help?