Hey! could someone help me with understanding the Necromancy rules in Bloodlines the Resurrected?
Quicken Corpse (••••) Target number of successes: 8 Material Focus: An intact humanoid corpse. The vampire touches a humanoid corpse and imbues it with necromantic power, animating it and creating a mindless but obedient follower. This creation is effectively a “free” Retainer with a rating equal to the rite’s Potency, with a “field” mostly encompassing manual labor and basic forms of violence. Zombies do not suffer wound penalties and cannot heal damage naturally. Bashing, lethal and aggravated wounds are marked normally, but a zombie never suffers incapacitation — it just keeps going until its last Health box is lost to aggravated damage. When a zombie’s rightmost Health box is marked with bashing or lethal damage, no roll is required to remain conscious. Casting this ritual on an existing zombie can heal damage equal to Potency. If the target corpse is already animated under Appendix I: Kindred Necromancy 24 another necromancer’s control, a Clash of Wills takes place; if the vampire succeeds, he gains control of the corpse. This ritual ends after a lunar month, or whenever the zombie is destroyed from suffering aggravated damage in its rightmost health box.
is Potency equal to success or the rank of the ritual? As the ritual requires 8 success if potency is 8 that would make them rank 8 retainers and have 16 dice to attack. Correct?
Quicken Corpse (••••) Target number of successes: 8 Material Focus: An intact humanoid corpse. The vampire touches a humanoid corpse and imbues it with necromantic power, animating it and creating a mindless but obedient follower. This creation is effectively a “free” Retainer with a rating equal to the rite’s Potency, with a “field” mostly encompassing manual labor and basic forms of violence. Zombies do not suffer wound penalties and cannot heal damage naturally. Bashing, lethal and aggravated wounds are marked normally, but a zombie never suffers incapacitation — it just keeps going until its last Health box is lost to aggravated damage. When a zombie’s rightmost Health box is marked with bashing or lethal damage, no roll is required to remain conscious. Casting this ritual on an existing zombie can heal damage equal to Potency. If the target corpse is already animated under Appendix I: Kindred Necromancy 24 another necromancer’s control, a Clash of Wills takes place; if the vampire succeeds, he gains control of the corpse. This ritual ends after a lunar month, or whenever the zombie is destroyed from suffering aggravated damage in its rightmost health box.
is Potency equal to success or the rank of the ritual? As the ritual requires 8 success if potency is 8 that would make them rank 8 retainers and have 16 dice to attack. Correct?
Comment