Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Awe & Dread presence

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Awe & Dread presence

    So, I suddenly had a doubt about both Majesty and Nightmare 1: it's stated a vampire can fortify itself against such by lashing out his aura. Since, normally, the opponent can reply with its own aura, which is an instant action, and both awe and Dread are an instant action as well, how can the user contest the opponent predatory aura? I hope it doesn't mean that he can't and the opponent is the only one lashing out to fortify against the discipline. That would really suck making Majesty and Nightmare almost useless against the vast majority of vampire and situation.

  • #2
    Originally posted by Marcus View Post
    So, I suddenly had a doubt about both Majesty and Nightmare 1: it's stated a vampire can fortify itself against such by lashing out his aura. Since, normally, the opponent can reply with its own aura, which is an instant action, and both awe and Dread are an instant action as well, how can the user contest the opponent predatory aura? I hope it doesn't mean that he can't and the opponent is the only one lashing out to fortify against the discipline. That would really suck making Majesty and Nightmare almost useless against the vast majority of vampire and situation.
    Repsonding to Lashing Out is not an instant action so there's no conflict in the rules.


    Bloodline: The Stygians
    Ordo Dracul Mysteries: Mystery of Smoke, Revised Mystery of Živa
    Mage The Awakening: Spell Quick Reference (single page and landscape for computer screens)

    Comment


    • #3
      Originally posted by Tessie View Post

      Repsonding to Lashing Out is not an instant action so there's no conflict in the rules.
      Sorry, what in the text let you think that? I might have lost something but it states whoever lash out take a simple action of the appropriate kind. The opponent may decide to respond with the same or another kind of aura end possibly spend a wp if the BP is lower than the opponent. It makes me think responding is following the same rules as if it were the attacker.

      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by Marcus View Post

        Sorry, what in the text let you think that? I might have lost something but it states whoever lash out take a simple action of the appropriate kind. The opponent may decide to respond with the same or another kind of aura end possibly spend a wp if the BP is lower than the opponent. It makes me think responding is following the same rules as if it were the attacker.
        Because everything which is done in response to something else is always reflexive (otherwise you can't respond until it's your turn in the initiative meaning the effect either would take place before you can respond or be put on hold until you can), and unless it's specifically called out reflexive actions don't take away your instant action.


        Bloodline: The Stygians
        Ordo Dracul Mysteries: Mystery of Smoke, Revised Mystery of Živa
        Mage The Awakening: Spell Quick Reference (single page and landscape for computer screens)

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by Tessie View Post

          Because everything which is done in response to something else is always reflexive (otherwise you can't respond until it's your turn in the initiative meaning the effect either would take place before you can respond or be put on hold until you can), and unless it's specifically called out reflexive actions don't take away your instant action.

          Well, the first example which come into my mind is combat: the attacker with the higher initiative throw a punch, the defender - lower in initiative - can decide to defend as an action, not being able to perform any other action and yet responding to the primary actor.

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by Marcus View Post
            Well, the first example which come into my mind is combat: the attacker with the higher initiative throw a punch, the defender - lower in initiative - can decide to defend as an action, not being able to perform any other action and yet responding to the primary actor.
            Originally posted by Tessie View Post
            Because everything which is done in response to something else is always reflexive (otherwise you can't respond until it's your turn in the initiative meaning the effect either would take place before you can respond or be put on hold until you can), and unless it's specifically called out reflexive actions don't take away your instant action.
            Dodge was exactly the reason I included that bit. It's by far the most notable exception, but it's also close to the only exception (I think there's a Fighting Style that does something similar, but if so it's obviously based on the Dodge action).
            As a general rule, every time you contest a power you do so reflexively without giving up your instant action. The fight response to Lashing Out is the same.


            Bloodline: The Stygians
            Ordo Dracul Mysteries: Mystery of Smoke, Revised Mystery of Živa
            Mage The Awakening: Spell Quick Reference (single page and landscape for computer screens)

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by Tessie View Post



              Dodge was exactly the reason I included that bit. It's by far the most notable exception, but it's also close to the only exception (I think there's a Fighting Style that does something similar, but if so it's obviously based on the Dodge action).
              As a general rule, every time you contest a power you do so reflexively without giving up your instant action. The fight response to Lashing Out is the same.
              Got it. Well it makes sense indeed. Otherwise it would have been a bit bugged

              Comment

              Working...
              X