Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ask a simple question, get a simple answer: Vampire

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • In order to use any Dominate Power other than Mesmerize through Chain of Command do you, practically speaking, need to use Chain of Command twice? Once to Mesmirize, once to use the other power?

    Are the Conditions created by Chain of Command keyed to you or the person who used them? I.e. once Mesmirize is used the victim has the mesmerized condition. Can you give more commands? Can the person you Chained through? Both?

    Can you use Dominate Devotions through Chain of Command? I.e. Conditioning.

    Comment


    • The one with the devotion needs to actually know the Dominate power in question. They mesmerize their agent and in the course of that, give instructions to use a Dominate power on someone else. When that agent encounters the victim, he uses the vampire’s dice pool to use the Dominate power as per instructions.
      There’s a few general interpretations. 1. Mesmerize is considered to be installable as a “freebie” in the instructions left with the agent as well as whatever other Dominate power as a single use of Chain of Command. 2. You have to implant two power uses in the agent but Mesmerize doesn’t count toward the single application of a Dominate programmed into someone to be installed. 3a. Literal interpretation. You can’t implant two Dominate powers in a single agent at one time. Which means you use the agent to install Mesmerize in the target, then you approach the target and apply the other power. 3b. You install Mesmerize on the target and use your agent to install the Dominate command.

      Comment


      • Originally posted by tsusasi View Post
        There’s a few general interpretations. 1. Mesmerize is considered to be installable as a “freebie” in the instructions left with the agent as well as whatever other Dominate power as a single use of Chain of Command. 2. You have to implant two power uses in the agent but Mesmerize doesn’t count toward the single application of a Dominate programmed into someone to be installed. 3a. Literal interpretation. You can’t implant two Dominate powers in a single agent at one time. Which means you use the agent to install Mesmerize in the target, then you approach the target and apply the other power. 3b. You install Mesmerize on the target and use your agent to install the Dominate command.
        4. The ability to have an agent Mesmerize and instruct a given target is the main use of the Devotion without preparing the target beforehand, because Mesmerize otherwise only makes a target susceptible to your instructions.

        This is a power that builds on the level of Dominate that lets you set triggers for all the other Dominate powers that can play out without your direct involvement; intricate domino chains of mortal conduits for your Beast's commands are still best suited to locales you've set up beforehand, at least as far as a two-Experience Devotion is concerned.


        Resident Sanguinary Analyst
        Currently Consuming: Changeling: the Lost 1e

        Comment


        • oh curious? How effective do you think Apple of eden would be at creating hunter's

          if the citys government is oppressive and you want to see it overthrown?


          Comment


          • Originally posted by Prince of the Night View Post
            oh curious? How effective do you think Apple of eden would be at creating hunter's

            if the citys government is oppressive and you want to see it overthrown?
            0 to 100% effective. It depends entirely on the mindset of the person eating the apple. You'd need a lot of apples to get enough people to overthrow a city government, unless it was some feudal era city.

            Comment


            • oh sorry by city's government meant the court of local kindred.


              Think Im right that its a fair way to set things in motion. (Only thing is you need to make sure they dont see you)


              Comment


              • Originally posted by Prince of the Night View Post
                oh sorry by city's government meant the court of local kindred.

                Think Im right that its a fair way to set things in motion. (Only thing is you need to make sure they dont see you)
                It's about as likely as ghouls being used to take over the domain. Which, again, goes from 0 to 100% likely depending on the apple-eaters and who's directing them. One person finding out someone is a vampire does not automatically mean they're going to kill that vampire, or that the vampire has any bearing on the power structure of the domain.

                Comment


                • didnt say it was perfect but potentialy effective.

                  then again, the apples could be a boon to those who allready follow the code if a Kindred decided to give them to him.


                  Comment


                  • I remember reading way back in 1st Edition (either in Vampire the Requiem or Hunter The Vigil, I don't exactly recall) that snake venom was particularly nasty to vampires because it caused lethal damage and snake venom was notorious for burning away Vitae.

                    Is this still the case in 2e? How do vampires react to snake venom? Does snake venom do lethal or just bashing damage to vampires in 2e? Does it burn away their Vitae or not?

                    Edit: And as a follow up question: When a Gangrel decides to shapeshift into a viper with Protean, does the Gangrel in viper form also inflict venom with his bites like real snakes?
                    Last edited by Ventrue Life; 06-13-2018, 02:17 PM.

                    Comment


                    • It's in Requiem's core.

                      It would probably just do bashing, now, but still dissolve Vitae one per dot of damage. It was only some venoms that attack the blood.

                      And as a follow up question: When a Gangrel decides to shapeshift into a viper with Protean, does the Gangrel in viper form also inflict venom with his bites like real snakes?
                      It says you can gain Merits based on Storyteller discretion, I figure it's up to the Storyteller but can't really see a reason not to. It's not as if you're gaining a unique ability far beyond the ken of vampires.
                      Last edited by nofather; 06-13-2018, 02:55 PM.

                      Comment


                      • What happens if a vampire feeds on an intoxicated mortal?

                        The vampire suffers the effects of the drug. The vampire may remove these effects by spending one Vitae, but could conceivably be too intoxicated to concentrate enough to do so.
                        Poisons not specifically harmful to Kindred follow the same rules as drugs. A Storyteller may choose to make an exception for poisons which break down cellular structure, but that’s at her own discretion.
                        Per the FAQ, this is how poisons work on Kindred now.

                        Comment


                        • Originally posted by Maina View Post

                          Per the FAQ, this is how poisons work on Kindred now.

                          Fair enough, but when a vampire suffers the effect of a venom, does he get lethal damage like mortals or bashing because vampires typically downgrade lethal to bashing unless otherwise specified? Sounds like nofather thinks it should be bashing and my gut feeling says the same, but I want to double check to make sure.

                          Does this mean that the "snake venom dissolves Vitae" clause from 1e is not carried over to 2e?

                          Comment


                          • oh curious anything Im missing for why a high humanity Revenant wouldnt take a bout of torpor every now and then to help cut down on hunting?


                            Comment


                            • Originally posted by Prince of the Night View Post
                              oh curious anything Im missing for why a high humanity Revenant wouldnt take a bout of torpor every now and then to help cut down on hunting?
                              Because each time you go in torpor you encounter a Breaking Point until you drop below Humanity 6.

                              Besides, what difference does it make to a revenant? Why would a revenant care whether he sleeps 1 day, 1 month or 1 year between each night? If anything, going in Torpor will make unlife even worse, because Torpor is not a pleasant experience. It's not like you're just sleeping like a human. A vampire or revenant in Torpor has all kinds of fucked up nightmares that won't stop until he wakes up again.
                              Last edited by Ventrue Life; 06-13-2018, 07:11 PM.

                              Comment


                              • Hemotoxin is the IRL venom that destroys blood and it's most common in vipers I believe. I would probably make it destroy Vitae point for point on a vamp instead of damage.

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X