Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ask a simple question, get a simple answer: Vampire

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • I was wondering if the +2 L (2 AP) from Horrid Talons overrides the weapon modifiers of a few protean 3 animal forms or if it stacks. On every ability I've seen thus far it states that the weapon becomes a "+X L" weapon, but in this case it states that it gives the weapon a +2 L ( 2 AP) weapon modifier. Does this mean that it would stack with the weapon modifiers granted by animal forms? For example, a Tiger (using 1e animal stats) has +2 L (2 AP) on its claws. Would it stay the same or go up to +4 L (4 AP)?

    Comment


    • The plus means it's plus any rolled successes. No weapon damages stack unless explicitly stated that it does.
      A vampire in an animal form using Horrid Talons will always get claws that deal +2L, AP2 that doesn't downgrade to bashing.


      Bloodline: The Stygians
      Ordo Dracul Mysteries: Mystery of Smoke, Revised Mystery of Živa
      Mage The Awakening: Spell Quick Reference (single page and landscape for computer screens)

      Comment


      • Question: Does a player have to choose if they want to use the Inspired condition on an action before or after they roll?
        For example, when a player rolls and gains 3 successes, can he then choose to resolve the Inspired condition to make it an exceptional success and gain 1 Willpower? Or does the player have to choose to resolve Inspired before the roll is made?

        Comment


        • That depends on the ST. If they want all situational modifiers and benefits announced before the roll, you state you are going to have your character use before you roll. If the ST is okay with you rolling and saying “Oh I want to resolve the Inspired Condition because it pertains to why my character was Inspired” then you can do that. But no, you don’t get to dictate the ST has to let you modify a roll AFTER you realize you didn’t get the results you wanted from the roll.

          Comment


          • Whats it like being blood bound to someone you hate?

            Whats it like to be a member of the Sanctum Bound to a Acolyte

            KNOWING that what hes done to you is blasphemy but being powerless to do anything but love him


            Whats it like to be a Extreme Degenerate bound to a more princibled Kindred?


            Comment


            • Originally posted by Prince of the Night View Post
              Whats it like being blood bound to someone you hate?

              Whats it like to be a member of the Sanctum Bound to a Acolyte

              KNOWING that what hes done to you is blasphemy but being powerless to do anything but love him


              Whats it like to be a Extreme Degenerate bound to a more princibled Kindred?
              Imagine falling madly, desperately in love with someone. You know their faith is wrong, you hate them on a deep level, you wish you could get free of them. But the love is overwhelming and you're powerless against it and can't stop thinking how good it makes you feel just being in their presence.

              Comment


              • Originally posted by Prince of the Night View Post
                Whats it like being blood bound to someone you hate?

                Whats it like to be a member of the Sanctum Bound to a Acolyte

                2nd Corinthians 6:14-15.

                They may pointedly go out of their way to avoid the Acolyte.

                If I were playing the Sanctified, I’d use it as an excuse to proselytize to them at every turn, look for opportunities to entrap them in a mutual vinculum. Ruin their reputation with the other pagans. Instead of slaughtering the regnant for their blasphemy, sabotage their pagan practices at every chance. Attempt to entrap them in a vinculum and view all of it as God putting the character in that position to save the innocent victims and turn the pagan on the right path. (Either convert them or make them regret thinking it was a good idea to try and pervert a devout Sanctified.)

                Comment


                • any Valid Reasons to let such a Sanctified Continue to practice his own Religion, and only use him against Belials brood or other Cults of the Circle Who are hostile to you.

                  Or Ordo Dracul who want your Holy sites or Artifacts for 'Experiments'

                  or Carthians who are Fanatic Seculars.


                  It gives them less circumstances that could justify spending Willpower to go against the blood bond.?

                  aught else?


                  Comment


                  • Do you NOT realize that putting someone under a vinculum does not give that person the power to rewrite their victim's personality or grant them immunity to a brutal reprisal by their victim for physical, emotional, and mental abuse.

                    I see no valid reason to say the Sanctified will abandon their moral code or religion because of a vinculum.

                    Comment


                    • Given that a full vinculum allows you to attempt a social manoeuvring roll every turn you really could convert them quite easily if you tried just going by game mechanics. That being said it’s also reasonable to say that a individual who is converted from one belief system to its rival would gain some sort of condition to reflect their inner conflict and that players should be given a say in how their character responds to such things.

                      Comment


                      • Vinculums don't make unreasonable, morally repugnant, or self destructive requests suddenly possible using Social Maneuvering rules. You also don't get to roll for a week if you created a Hostile impression so it behooves regnants to not conduct themselves like fucksocks and/or go around shitting on the belief systems of their thralls if they actually want them to do something for them.

                        And I don't think it's reasonable to say a character is just going to get up one night and embrace a belief system they found abhorrent the night before, no matter how much magic blood gets poured down their throat.

                        Comment


                        • Not without going to actual mind control à la Dominate, but that's not what a Vinculum is. A Vinculum manipulates feelings towards the regnant (admittedly quite strongly at the third stage) but it doesn't dictate feelings towards others, nor does it dictate behaviour.

                          A regnant does have a much easier time brainwashing their thrall through social manoeuvreing (due to upgrading their impression, and even permanently setting it to perfect at the third stage, making it technically impossible to get a hostile impression) but that requires a lot of effort and successful rolls over a larger period of time. Making completely ludicrous requests instead of gradual persuasion should still just outright fail.


                          Bloodline: The Stygians
                          Ordo Dracul Mysteries: Mystery of Smoke, Revised Mystery of Živa
                          Mage The Awakening: Spell Quick Reference (single page and landscape for computer screens)

                          Comment


                          • Hey all, I'm kind of new to the CoD world and had a couple of questions.

                            When feeding, if you do a feeding scene without dice, you have to risk losing a point of humanity (with a greater chance of detachment if you intervene more to direct the narrative of the scene), but if you feed by doing a dice roll, you run no such risk, maybe just complications that come from a Dramatic Failure, correct? Why would one method result in a (potential) humanity loss and the other not, when they are essentially doing the same task?

                            And to make sure I understand correctly, is diablerie (not that I expect this to happen a lot) a 4 step process:

                            1. The victim must first be drained of all Vitae
                            2. The aggressor continues to drink, but instead of losing Vitae, the victim's Health boxes are filled with lethal damage.
                            3. As above, but now all Health boxes are filled with aggravated damage.
                            4. The aggressor then spends Willpower and rolls Strength + Resolve each turn until Successes >= victim's Blood Potency.

                            So for an undamaged victim with 10 Vitae and 8 Health, for example, it would take at least 27 turns, or about 1.5 minutes, to complete the act? Is the victim able to fight back at all during this time?

                            Comment


                            • Originally posted by MarquisMark View Post
                              When feeding, if you do a feeding scene without dice, you have to risk losing a point of humanity (with a greater chance of detachment if you intervene more to direct the narrative of the scene), but if you feed by doing a dice roll, you run no such risk, maybe just complications that come from a Dramatic Failure, correct? Why would one method result in a (potential) humanity loss and the other not, when they are essentially doing the same task?
                              Because the diceless method is there to put the spotlight on the character's Anchors and Humanity rating and generate Conditions, while the with-dice method is there to facilitate more wide-angle complications. Lower-Humanity characters can assert fiat more frequently and get away with more stuff that would constitute a detachment check in the framework of the diceless system, as well.

                              So for an undamaged victim with 10 Vitae and 8 Health, for example, it would take at least 27 turns, or about 1.5 minutes, to complete the act? Is the victim able to fight back at all during this time?
                              If this seems daunting, it's because you're treating a prerequisite as a part of the process; diablerie practically only works on a vampire in torpor, a process which either requires the Kindred to have a full track of lethal damage or means that the character unconsciously spent as much Vitae as they could to heal their wounds; most vampires will spend Vitae to keep from being damaged into torpor in the first place (setting aside that a violent bite deals lethal damage as well), so an undamaged victim with (for most vampires, at least) a majority of their Vitae is already an aberrant circumstance.

                              Unless you're really focused on getting Vitae out of the process as well, the practical means of committing diablerie comes with a prelude of good old-fashioned beat-them-into-a-coma, at which point you just have to spend a few turns filling in the rest of the starter aggravated damage and then undertake the draining process of overcoming the soul itself.

                              To answer your second question, in other words, only during your first two steps.


                              Resident Sanguinary Analyst
                              Currently Consuming: Changeling: the Lost 1e

                              Comment


                              • Thank you for your reply, Satchel.

                                One question to your answer about the no-dice feeding scenes:

                                Originally posted by Satchel
                                Lower-Humanity characters can assert fiat more frequently and get away with more stuff that would constitute a detachment check in the framework of the diceless system, as well.
                                For the diceless method (to make sure I understand this correcly), the detachment dice pool is always 6 minus the accumulated fiat ticks. So a PC of Humanity 5, who does not inject fiat into a feeding scene, will not have to roll detachment, but if that same PC interjects 3 times, then they would have to roll detachment? In essence, it's easier for a PC to keep his Humanity by just rolling with what the ST and other PCs put into a feeding scene, instead of trying to change the narrative?

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X