Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ask a simple question, get a simple answer: Vampire

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • If the penalty applied to the Riding the Wave attempt I'd say yes.

    Comment


    • Originally posted by Prince of the Night View Post
      Does riding the wave Qualify as Frenzy for resetting penalties from tempted?
      Riding the Wave of Frenzy is a form of Frenzy so it resolves Tempted. Tempted only penalises resisting Frenzy, which is different from Riding the Wave.


      Bloodline: The Stygians
      Ordo Dracul Mysteries: Mystery of Smoke, Revised Mystery of Živa
      Mage The Awakening: Spell Quick Reference (single page and landscape for computer screens)

      Comment


      • oh on Touchstones?

        do these count as meaningful interaction for purposes of removing tempted?

        is polishing a watch telling time with it.

        Using a sword/Revolver/Assault rifle in battle

        Defending a holy place.

        Conducting Ceremonys in a holy place.

        Burning incense in a touch stone burner.

        Meditating with a touchstone Buddha statue.


        Comment


        • I think you'd be hard pressed to find an ST that accepts those as Touchstones in the first place. Touchstones aren't exclusively humans, but they really should remind you of your human life. The house you grew up in is a great example because it really does ground the character in their human life. Objects such as a watch or a sword probably does not unless they're intrinsically linked to their human life.
          If you do have those as Touchstones, I'd say that most of those interactions would work. The clock would probably require something like a deep cleaning or being ritualistically wound up. The sword needs to be used ritualistically in battle in order to not just be a tool in the vampire's hands; alternatively you could instead have a maintenance session with the sword, making sure it does not fall into disrepair.


          Bloodline: The Stygians
          Ordo Dracul Mysteries: Mystery of Smoke, Revised Mystery of Živa
          Mage The Awakening: Spell Quick Reference (single page and landscape for computer screens)

          Comment


          • As far as I'm concerned, yes on all of them, but there is also an argument to be made that using the item touchstones as designed does potentially put them at risk of being damaged.

            Comment


            • so its best not to use your Daisho except in ceremonial cases?

              and a touchstone doesn't have to be tied to your mortal life just remind you of it somehow.


              Comment


              • When a vampire experiences Final Death, what happens to all the individuals Blood-bonded to them? Does the Bond disappear immediately or fade at the normal rate it fades at when deprived of new blood?


                A god is just a monster you kneel to. - ArcaneArts, Quoting "Fall of Gods"

                Comment


                • As I said, using it does put it at risk of being damaged. Whether or not using it or merely setting it aside and keeping it in a safe or display case gives them the psychological support of a touchstone is a case by case basis.

                  As a player, I don't waste XP on touchstones and as an ST, I don't incorporate them unless the player wants. By RAW, a touchstone just needs to reinforce to the kindred character that they used to be human. Some ghoul or their great grandchild could be a touchstone - so they don't have to have been something or someone the kindred had or knew when they were alive.

                  Comment


                  • Originally posted by Master Aquatosic View Post
                    When a vampire experiences Final Death, what happens to all the individuals Blood-bonded to them? Does the Bond disappear immediately or fade at the normal rate it fades at when deprived of new blood?
                    The fluff in the past has implied it shatters immediately and violently. The thralls all know what happened.

                    Comment


                    • Originally posted by Draconis View Post

                      The fluff in the past has implied it shatters immediately and violently. The thralls all know what happened.
                      Thank you. What does this mean about their emotions towards their dead master though? And are there any mechanical rules on it, like the blood bond conditions disappearing immediately without resolving?


                      A god is just a monster you kneel to. - ArcaneArts, Quoting "Fall of Gods"

                      Comment


                      • There's no mechanics for it in 2nd edition forcing a reaction or behavior. It's up to the players and ST to decide if the thrall is going to remain loyal to the memory of their dead master, make a symbolic grave and dance on it, or move on with their life with one less toxic influence to worry about any longer.

                        Comment


                        • Originally posted by Master Aquatosic View Post
                          Thank you. What does this mean about their emotions towards their dead master though? And are there any mechanical rules on it, like the blood bond conditions disappearing immediately without resolving?
                          Blood bonds aren't represented through Conditions.


                          Bloodline: The Stygians
                          Ordo Dracul Mysteries: Mystery of Smoke, Revised Mystery of Živa
                          Mage The Awakening: Spell Quick Reference (single page and landscape for computer screens)

                          Comment


                          • Ok, so. 2e, Coil of the Ascendant.
                            So, a vampire with the first dot, "Surmounting the Daysleep", does not not need to roll to resist the daily slumber nor does it gain the Lethargic condition as long as Blush of Life is active. Ok good so far. But then at the second dot, "The Warm Face", Blush of Life now lasts 24 hours. So does this mean that the Vampire can remain awake 24/7 as long as it is willing to spend 1 extra vitae each day?

                            Comment


                            • Originally posted by Emerus View Post
                              Ok, so. 2e, Coil of the Ascendant.
                              So, a vampire with the first dot, "Surmounting the Daysleep", does not not need to roll to resist the daily slumber nor does it gain the Lethargic condition as long as Blush of Life is active. Ok good so far. But then at the second dot, "The Warm Face", Blush of Life now lasts 24 hours. So does this mean that the Vampire can remain awake 24/7 as long as it is willing to spend 1 extra vitae each day?
                              That's the idea, yeah.


                              Resident Lore-Hound
                              Currently Consuming: Hunter: the Vigil 1e

                              Comment


                              • Indeed it does. At the cost of an extra Vitae.

                                Note that this doesn't do anything to avoid the usual difficulties of being awake during the day (reduced dice pools, burning in the sun, etc). It just means you won't fall asleep.

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X