Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Relentless Assault and Initiative

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Relentless Assault and Initiative

    The first dot of Relentless Assault states that when the character is using an All Out Attack on her first turn, she gets a bonus to Initiative rating for that turn.

    ....How does that work? Hasn't Initiative already been determined before that and someone else - who would be lower on the Initiative when the other character's bonus is in effect but higher prior to that - already acted?

  • #2
    Maybe the character's player has to state that his character will be using that move before the round begins (and thus before rolling Initiative) ?

    There are other powers and actions that require the player to state that she'll be using its effect before rolling the dice, so this could be a similar case.

    Comment


    • #3
      You have to declare all-out attacks earlier in the round anyway since you would have lost your defense, and an attacking player would need to know that to calculate his dicepool. That's standard operating procedure.

      So yes, you do roll initiatives, and then declare 'add 3 to mine for this round, because I am going to All-Out attack and I get a bonus from Relentless Assault' or whatever. You would then act before anyone with lower initiative than your boosted initiative for that round only.

      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by Serpent Axis View Post
        The first dot of Relentless Assault states that when the character is using an All Out Attack on her first turn, she gets a bonus to Initiative rating for that turn.
        Not quite.

        The wording is that in the first turn of a fight, you get a +3 to your Initiative rating as long as you make an all-out attack on that turn.

        In denser terms, you get +3 to your Initiative on the first turn and subtract that same 3 Initiative if you don't make an all-out attack as your opening gambit.

        So you get the bonus, and if you do anything other than make an all-out attack on that turn, your Initiative rating drops before you take that action; if you follow through and make the attack, your Initiative waits until after the attack to fall back down to what it would be normally. Anyone who went before you in the Initiative order would have to have beaten the heightened rating to definitely move before you.


        Resident Sanguinary Analyst
        Currently Consuming: Changeling: the Lost 1e

        Comment

        Working...
        X