[2E] Grokking the Blood Talon Vow

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [2E] Grokking the Blood Talon Vow

I've been playing WtF nearly weekly for over 3 years in what has been a generational game spanning the edition change. My current character is a born fighter, a rising star in MMA who had her future stolen from her by the first change. After being a shit Uratha for the better part of 5 years, taking a tribe because it was more or less thrust upon her, but never really figuring out what it means. Events have conspired to leading her to take the role of Alpha and after several close call fights, her vow (and lack of thought toward it) has become a major focus.

As I sit back, trying to figure out what it means for the character, I myself am having a hard time coming up with an interpretation that feels right for the character - which mirrors the character's own uncertainties. She has talk with several other Talons in the area, but their terms didn't resonate.

So, I'm crowd sourcing. What are different ways to look the vow of Fenris-Ur ("Offer no surrender you would not accept")? If you think you have a specific suggestion for the character, I'm game for that too. If you think you have an elegant or different way to break the vow down, I'm open to that too. Mostly searching for the thing that 'feels' right, but also isn't going to drag the game down or force the pack into constant do-or-die situations.

How does your character view it so far?

I mean, being raised as a MMA fighter, she's used to some rules and structure, no? It's not as if, when her opponent gave up, she would keep pounding them until they were dead. Alternatively, if she was being attacked by an overwhelming force, is there no point she would hold up a hand and ask for the attack to cease?