Aberrant: Mastery questions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aberrant: Mastery questions

Hey all, been a while since I've chimed in here...busy with my daughter (turned 1 last week) but ive been gaming again for a few months and our Aberrant game has reached the Quantum 6 almost 7 level. My question to the forum folk is: What powers gain the most benefit from mastery, and which tend to miss the boat with it in your opinion? I was really stoked upon number crunching, that mastery of Force Field, even with a single dot, is incredibly effective with a 5 stamina and 5 mega stamina. Hypermove, on the other hand, while on combat movement gets a good boost, OOC it seems a bit lackluster.

Ive never been in an Aberrant game that has gone to this level or further, so mastery 2 and 3 are also up for debate. We plan to run this game until the new Aberrant is out or we all hit Quantum 10...hopefully the former.

Basically every power breaks with enough mastery. For instance, even Hypermovement gets up to a percentage of the speed of light at mastery 3 :P

Comment

The powers which already have multipliers, such as Quantum Bolt, definitely benefit the most. However, even powers without them can be pretty sweet.

Originally posted by Jetstream View Post
      Basically every power breaks with enough mastery. For instance, even Hypermovement gets up to a percentage of the speed of light at mastery 3 :P
      Jetstream and I have played multiple characters in the Q6+ range, so we have some direct experience with this.

Some potential pitfalls you may want to address before you actually allow Mastery in-game:
      • Soak-stacking becomes a major problem, and the relative value of most M. Stam enhancements plummets. Mastered Armor + Mastered Force Field can make it nigh-impossible to actually hurt somebody.