Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ask a Dev

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Also what is the benefit to using xp to switch your approach?

    Comment


    • How does quantum attack work with mega might, does it stack or do you just take whichever is highest scale and then add enhancement from quantum attack.

      Comment


      • What is the benefit of the camaraderie bond that isn’t covered by the Enhancement stunt?

        Comment


        • Is Greater Siam meant to include most of present day Thailand, Laos, and Cambodia? I'm working on a map for my players as the one in the book is a bit different from what is described in the setting chapter.

          Comment


          • If you are in a situation where getting another dot in a path would leave you maxed out in something with some points left over do you lose those points? Like if I have all my Path skills maxed out and get another dot in my Path do I just not put any points in skills or can I put the points I would have gotten in another thematically appropriate skill for my Path?

            Comment


            • The Cool Under Fire edge (TC Core pg. 65) says when purchasing the Dive for Cover stunt the character gains an extra Dodge. This seems like a relic of an earlier iteration of the rules, but I'm not sure what the intent is. When Diving to Cover should they get a free level of the Dodge stunt?

              Comment


              • Originally posted by literatzi View Post
                Is Greater Siam meant to include most of present day Thailand, Laos, and Cambodia? I'm working on a map for my players as the one in the book is a bit different from what is described in the setting chapter.
                Yes, I believe so.


                Writer. Developer. World of Darkness | Chronicles of Darkness | The Trinity Continuum

                Comment


                • Originally posted by Planguy View Post
                  If you are in a situation where getting another dot in a path would leave you maxed out in something with some points left over do you lose those points? Like if I have all my Path skills maxed out and get another dot in my Path do I just not put any points in skills or can I put the points I would have gotten in another thematically appropriate skill for my Path?
                  I don’t believe the rules specifically cover this, but Storypath isn’t in the habit of stealing points from characters or depowering player choices. If I were the SG in this instance I’d let the player spend the additional points on thematically appropriate skills, as you’ve suggested.


                  Writer. Developer. World of Darkness | Chronicles of Darkness | The Trinity Continuum

                  Comment


                  • (Aberrant p.204) Can I apply the "Variable(X)" tag to a Technique?

                    Comment


                    • Can Bestow/Impose be used to put the effects of a power onto objects and not just people?

                      For example, is it possible to give Quantum Aura power the Impose power tag in order to make something (instead of just someone) dangerous to touch?

                      Comment


                      • Originally posted by Eternl Knight View Post
                        Can Bestow/Impose be used to put the effects of a power onto objects and not just people?

                        For example, is it possible to give Quantum Aura power the Impose power tag in order to make something (instead of just someone) dangerous to touch?
                        Bestow requires the subject to be able to control the power, so I’d say no to that one (but only for that reason). Impose is under the control of the nova, so I don’t see any reason why not.

                        Even if the ST decides that RAW dictates no to both, there’s no reason that a character couldn’t have the equivalent for inanimate objects only.


                        Writer. Developer. World of Darkness | Chronicles of Darkness | The Trinity Continuum

                        Comment


                        • I really loved the way they managed to add scale, while some scales where added by the original rules (naming size and speed, mainly).

                          But it is not totally clear if this increase in scale could be added to the maximum scale of size for example.

                          Let’s say a PK wants to fly faster, it’s possible to go up to (check Aeon) mode dots (or half for space speed). They can the scales from both sources (regular rules and PU) stack?

                          Making it a bit more solid, PK has Psi 4 and Telekinesis 5, they could manage to reach Speed 5 with only 1 success (regular speed), or 6 spending one extra success. Using their rule, they could add further 4 (supposing they get something like 9 extra successes). The question is not about being possible to reach scale 9, the question is about can the scales stack in this case?

                          I know it’s not the focus of this rules, it’s more about the scales that where described in the rules (number of targets, power and durability, intensity, etc)


                          House Rules - The Basics - House Rules for Trinity Continuum
                          Fists of Flux - Inspired and Powered Martial Arts for Talents
                          Tomes of Inspiration - Rituals and Dark Magic in Fists of Flux

                          Comment


                          • As a general question about the Continuum, is traveling from one worldline in the continuum to another going to be solely the province of the Inspired/Talents?
                            Last edited by Shalmaneser; 02-07-2022, 07:09 AM.

                            Comment


                            • Originally posted by Shalmaneser View Post
                              As a general question about the Continuum, is traveling from one worldline in the continuum to another going to be solely the province of the Inspired/Talents?
                              Not necessarily. There's probably going to be an Inspired involved somewhere in there, as breaching dimensions is probably a super-science invention at best. But there's plenty of precedent in shows like Sliders where a variety of characters are jumping to alternate universes.


                              Ian A. A. Watson
                              Onyx Path Community Manager
                              Trinity Continuum Content Lead

                              Comment


                              • If humans eventually "persuade" a Doyen to part with the secrets of the Prometheus chamber and make one without the one-Aptitude limitation, what's the most likely outcome? Would it be the Doyen-equivalent one at 7+others at 5 or something unique to humanity?

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X