Rules Questions About Combat

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rules Questions About Combat

I have a bunch of combat related questions. If you have answers, please reference the page and paragraph in the TC Core book so I can take a look.

Is it me or is unarmed combat too deadly? In fact, aside from some weapons that have the Deadly and Aggravated tags that affect healing and first aid, it seems that any weapon or 'weapon' can cause an injury condition every time it connects as long as it can trigger the Inflict Damage stunt (essentially free on unarmored targets, which is most of the time). So it seems like no matter the weapon, it's the same. A simple punch hurts just as much as taking a bullet from a 9mm, and the same number of hits from both can leave a target taken out with broken bones and bleeding in their gut.

Am I missing something or does this seem ... off? Please tell me I'm missing something. It really doesn't make sense in my head. I've been reading and rereading the combat section and am struggling to find special rules concerning unarmed strikes.

Concerning extra actions, the way I'm reading it is you can declare any number of actions up to your Cunning score, but can then split the successes between those actions, and can exclude those actions you don't want to devote successes to if you don't have them to spare. So for example, let's say you want to shoot three unarmored mooks, each with Defense 1, but only roll two successes (including Enhancements) total. Does this mean you can shoot two of the mooks and miss the third? Or is this an all or nothing situation where you either hit all three or miss all three? I'm pretty confident it's the former, but I want to be certain.