[Aberrant] Toughs, Quickies, Cyborgs & Powered Armored Foes

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [Aberrant] Toughs, Quickies, Cyborgs & Powered Armored Foes

I think this is my first time creating a new post so - ahem - is this thing on?

Digging through the antagonist chapter - I'm not necessarily confused as the easiest way to represent the "enhanced baselines" is through the same mechanics dictating nova abilities - how do we literally treat those non-Nova foes with quantum ratings?

It doesn't seem to necessarily fit the fluff that a Quantum Leech/Imprinteur could steal powers or quantum pool from a robot/power armor dude/cyborg. I could see a Mite Bruiser or Speed Junkie being particular versions of Superiors with had some artificial power and most reasonably treated as such both mechanically and contextually. However, it seems that cyber-soldier and exo-suit don't quite fit the bill. I'd guess they've Nova Tech unless power armor and cybernetics only work with people with some mild penchant for quantum manipulation - though that seems to run counter to setting.

Full disclosure, I'm writing up a campaign for a Proteus Team - dark stars, Talents, normies (a little bit of a Batman Incorporated vibe) - and would love to be able to equip the baselines with some upgrades/call in favors to even the playing field and panzer suits and bionic upgrades fit the genre. Seems like nova genius inventors could for sure build first gen hardtech VARGs and/or mini-VARGs.

There's not really a question other than, how would you build out off-the-shelf super hero adjacent tech without pummeling the setting?

My advice on making low powered/non-powered characters more effective without breaking the setting is to focus on communications, stealth, and mobility tech.