Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello ! I'm new to Scarred Lands and have questions

Hello,

I backed the Scarred Lands 5E kickstarter and got my book a few weeks ago and have been really enjoying it. I have also been reading the older Scarred Lands books to get as much information as I can about the setting. I would like to start a new discussion here about questions I have and want to see how active the board is. I have some questions already written down so I'll just start out with one:

Where do the fey come from? It doesn't look like there is a Feywild or Plane of Fairie. Are they handled differently in the Scarred Lands? The elven PCs are still fey ancestry but what does that mean in Scarred Lands exactly? What are they descended from that give them that ancestry? Also the fey warlock patrons suggested don't seem very fey-like from what I can tell-they are a kraken (Queen Ran), a druid (Ilkuthsra) , a greater shadow Vextious or Vextius, and an evil outsider (Jack of Tears).

Any information to help me would be appreciated! Thanks

In the olden days, the elves (much like the other Divine Races) were created from an unknown Titan. It could have been one of the Greaters, could have been one of the Lessers, or they could have come from somewhere else. It isn't known.

Queen Ran and Ilkusthra were suggested because of their connection to dreams and dreaming and the fey in that way. (Ran is part of the Carnival of Shadows, and Ilkusthra the Autumn King has connection to... well, killing dreams of the living world). Ilkusthra is really only mentioned in the Serpent Amphora Trilogy and Ran herself is in Blood Bayou.

Comment

Ok, thank you. Next question is about the "The Ancients", the old human civilization. I don't mind a mystery but is the lore of that civilization expanded on anywhere other than the section in the Ghelspad Campaign Setting book?