Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

User Profile

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
  • Source
Clear All
new posts

  • Funnily enough you could say it's the mechanical aspect of her that is her Cover, with it even being destroyed when Going Loud.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Both Claws from Predatory Aspect and Horrid Talons from Unnatural Aspect will turn into Claws of the Unholy if in Frenzy....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Tessie
    replied to Angels and the Combat Issue
    By RAW it's an exhaustive list, not a list of suggestions. But even if you do house rule it to allow other realms, Twilight is not a realm.
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Tessie; Yesterday, 06:40 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Tessie
    replied to Belial's Brood in 2nd Edition
    You don't get control for a whole scene. You get to choose the target of the Frenzy, but once you've chosen it's identical to an uncontrolled Frenzy (except any benefits gained from the Riding the Wave Style). Walking around random passerbys instead of tearing through them still requires spending WP. Stir the Beast and Riding the Wave are basically identical with the exception of that Merit.
    That said, that's not how my group plays Riding the Wave. We've house ruled that extra control (being able to walk around non-targets, for example) because that's more interesting to us, and keeps Riding...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Tessie; Yesterday, 05:38 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Tessie
    replied to Belial's Brood in 2nd Edition
    If you've failed Riding the Wave then you've already entered Frenzy (and a bad one at that). Stir the Beast can only be done before you're in Frenzy. Though it's possible to use Stir the Beast in the middle of rolling for Riding the Wave, if you want to stop rolling without having to fall into the dramatic failure kind of Frenzy.



    Riding the Wave doesn't give you any power boost compared to regular Frenzy, unless you have the Riding the Wave Style Merit. Unfortunately it's of limited use for characters who study the Coil of the Wyrm. The third dot of the Coil completely...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Tessie; Yesterday, 04:45 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • My edit was a bit late.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • But the text is, and Aquatosic said "exerpts with actual mechanics" rather than just "mechanics".
    Here's the copyright notice on the credits page (I bolded some relevant parts):

    "© 2016 White Wolf AB. All rights reserved. Reproduction without the written permission of the publisher is expressly forbidden, except for the purposes of reviews, and for blank character sheets, which may be reproduced for personal use only. White Wolf, Vampire, and Chronicles of Darkness are registered trademarks of White Wolf AB. All rights reserved. Storytelling System,...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Tessie; Yesterday, 02:10 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Tessie
    replied to Belial's Brood in 2nd Edition
    This is actually already handled by Sanctity of Merits. The player gets their already invested Merit dots back to spend on other Merits (or back as XP if the ST allows it).




    I agree with you. Especially the latter, supernatural dots. For vampires that could be a source of Supernatural Merits they otherwise can't have (except for Zirnitra-Ordo; those cheaters). Or other non-standard benefits. For example, I'm working on an Underworld focused MCI for vampires. This is the WIP version of my fifth dot:

    "Kerberos (•••••): The Underworld is...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Tessie
    replied to Belial's Brood in 2nd Edition
    Riding the Wave can only be done as an alternative to resisting Frenzy.

    The easiest way would be to use the house rule I presented (especially if other characters will use the Coil of the Wyrm). However, you might want to rephrase the fifth dot of MCI as just granting the benefits of Stir the Beast rather than the actual Coil dot. For Ordo characters, once you've learned the first dot in your first Mystery you're able to develop the rest of the dots (or possibly alternatives) on your own.
    If you're worried about stacking XP costs for the same benefit, you could also include...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Tessie; Yesterday, 11:15 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Tessie
    replied to Belial's Brood in 2nd Edition
    It's not a provocation. You go directly to Frenzy, and you can only attempt to Ride the Wave when you otherwise would've attempted to resist Frenzy.

    On the other hand I think it's a common house rule to allow Riding the Wave in combination with Stir the Beast. We do it. Otherwise you get two mutually exclusive benefits from Coil of the Wyrm when the design philosophy for second edition has been for later dots to expand upon or complement the previous dots.

    Edit: Another house rule we have is that we don't award beats for using Stir the Beast unless you use it to redirect...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Tessie; Yesterday, 10:40 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • You can shift whenever if you have the right Harmony, but one action or movement should only benefit from one of the forms you take. Any extra benefits would be beyond the core rules, and such benefits can be gained through Merits. The latter example is actually already part of the Tactical Shifting Style....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • When I picked Mastigos for my first mage game I was told by my more experienced coplayers that they're definitely the best Path, based on ruling Arcana. (My next mage is probably going to be Acanthus, though. Exceptional Luck is also great, and Fate is probably more fun to play. Especially if I'd otherwise use the same Arcana twice in a row.)



    Definitely a risk when encountering mages using Mind, but it's also possible they're instead focusing on Mind because they wish to bolster themselves (increasing or granting Attributes, Skills and Merits; something I did a lot),...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • It's described in the previews sent out to backers of the kickstarter. Due to reasons much (most? all?) of the work on the book was redone. Hence why the open previews you've probably seen aren't relevant anymore....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Tessie
    replied to reflex sights
    Hurt Locker has the second edition rules for sights. Reflex sights aren't one of the listed sights, but fiber optics are probably the closest in terms of how they're used. They grant a +1 bonus when aiming.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • CofD is generally pretty lenient with clothing when it comes to shapeshifting. Vampires with Protean always subsume the clothes, and werewolves only rip clothes as a penalty for bad Harmony. For most werewolves the clothes can actually change to fit them when shifting to their near-human form. Skinthieves, on the other hand, requires an additional Merit in order to keep their clothes when transforming. But that's also a minor template that puts much more focus on the details around shapeshifting than even werewolves.

    When a power doesn't specify you should look to two things: What...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • If it's in Cover it's because it's working with humans. There are very few places humans can stay at 24/7 without drawing attention to themselves....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Not to be rude but I see three questions and I can't pin your answer to either.



    ​So, how would you guys treat it?
    Would you allow it use Manifestations and let it return to the Cover once the Manifestation has ended? Is the Cover lost if it discorporates? Should it protect against Essence bleed as if it was Materialized? Angels in Covers probably spend more time away from Infrastructure meaning they would bleed more, but might compensate by only using the odd Numen (such as Aggressive Meme or Implant Mission) compared to a hunter angel that boosts Attributes...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Tessie; 04-23-2018, 11:11 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Tessie
    replied to Contagion Chronicle book
    Unless it can resist or outright ignore such attempts. We have existing examples on a few different levels: GM angels (can't be mind controlled unless you can mind control the God-Machine), Archmages (automatically wins Clashes against lesser beings), vampires in Frenzy (can only be redirected; never actually controlled), and werewolves in Death Rage (increased resistance to mind controlling powers)....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Other than Angel-Jacking I can't find any rules about angelic Covers. Are angels able to use Influences/Numina/Incepts while in their Covers? Do a Cover protect from Essence bleed? Can they exit and enter their Cover as they please? If it's actually explained just a page reference would be enough. I just have a hard time navigating the book so I might've just missed it.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Tessie
    replied to Contagion Chronicle book
    Such a pretentious name. Did a mage start that Sworn?
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:

No activity results to display
Show More

Profile Sidebar

Collapse
Tessie
Tessie
Member
Last Activity: Today, 02:29 AM
Joined: 05-27-2016
Location: Sweden
Working...
X