Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

User Profile

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
  • Source
Clear All
new posts

  • The first 75 or so issues of The Saga of the Swamp Thing leap to mind; lots of dealing with involuntary transformation, personal discovery, expanding powers, coming to terms with inhumanity, and so on. I'd also add Doctor Zero for a look at how helpless a world of baselines would be in the face of a truly competent and highly experienced nova.

    Unsurprisingly, I've always liked Aberrant's Antaeus.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Amen to that!

    I expect that the intention is that there's no Warp roll at all, and that the navigation roll is only needed for traveling interstellar distances. Would that the preliminary rules were clear on the issue. Hopefully, the final product will be....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Yes, that's the section I referenced. That section specifically states that a Difficulty 4 Science or Enigma + Intellect roll lets you make the ends of the warp so small that they aren't likely to be noticed. It says nothing about actual navigation of the warp, though Science or Enigma + Intellect would make sense. So, too, might Resolve for maintaining focus throughout the journey....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • I expect that Warp is supposed to have a roll. Under the "Interstellar Warp Distances" section, Warping is a Complex Action with milestones to be met, along with a cumulative +1 Complication imposed on each milestone after the first. That seems strange for a power with no dice pool, unless the implication is that it relies on some Skill + Attribute combination....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Can a power's unique power tags be bought with Experience? For example, could a character with Warp 1 (so, no free tag points) use Experience to buy, say, the Clear power tag without having to increase the number of dots in the Warp power itself?
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • I'm still mulling it all over, but at first blush I agree with you. And yes, I think the birth control plot is gone.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Game mechanics-wise, I really like the system for advancing nova abilities. It forces a balancing act between gaining power and unwanted side effects. The slow bleed-off of flux through either Dormancy or simply not using one's powers both gives a reason for secret identities and slows down the rate at which characters become world-breaking gods. Add to that the requirement to max out ten times before increasing one's Quantum score and you get a gradual power creep, rather than a frantic climb to the top. For that reason, I like the limits placed on things like Power Suites and Mega-stuff....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • I had a question. I think I answered it for myself, though. Let's see if I'm right.

    Let's say my character has Warp 3 (free tags: Scale +2). So, to be able to use the power at Scale 1, Scale 2, or Scale 3 would cost 48 Experience (24 for the two levels of the Scale tag, and another 24 for the two extra configurations). Is that correct?

    Edited to correct terminology....
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Fortunatus; 07-31-2019, 12:41 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • I'd love to see a few examples of the Variable power tag in use, complete with cost breakdowns.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Anything you have Attuned will go with you. I assume that applies to the victim of an imposed teleportation....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • I'd expect the answer is yes, as the whole Power Suite is generally considered one power....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Fortunatus
    replied to Let's Build Power Suites
    I think that's the way it should work, but that's not the way it's written....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Fortunatus
    replied to Let's Build Power Suites
    I think Mateus is probably right on this. I expect that it's Technique (1), with no mention in its description of being able to be applied more than once (unlike, say, the Area power tag), to get around the problem of limiting the number of Techniques in a Power Suite by Quantum.

    So, then, how does Technique work?

    "The Technique power tag (p. XX) enables a nova to use one Quantum Power to duplicate the effects of another, ...." So, the Technique tag is placed on a power, and that power can optionally pretend to be a different power (or a different version...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Fortunatus
    replied to Let's Build Power Suites
    Actually, I just sent a suggestion to rewrite it exactly that way. I wish I'd read your post before I did. I'm agreed in full about not wanting to limit the size of Power Suites to Quantum.

    Something like, "for every instance of the Technique tag purchased, gain one Technique," would work just as well....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Robskylor Specialties are nice, but they're not all that. I really didn't bother fishing for them when I made the character I'm currently playing.

    Jetstream I like the way you think.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Durability gives you armor, which has its own, individual Scale. If you had Durability 1 (Scale 1) and Quantum Shield 3 (Scale 3), then a Scale 5 attack would ignore the Durability but not the Quantum Field. I don't think Mega-Stamina is meant to give you a durability Scale increase against damage.

    That's my take, anyway.

    (Also, I agree. Having a capital-d Durability power and a little-d durability Scale just adds to the confusion pile. I have the same problem with "points of power tags" not equating to "points spent on power tags".)
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Fortunatus
    replied to Let's Build Power Suites
    I concur. It never occurred to me that the number of powers in a Power Suite would be limited by Quantum. Though, I suppose it should have, given my misinterpretation of the Technique tag. Now I get why it's Technique (1) and not Technique (X)....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Fortunatus
    replied to Let's Build Power Suites
    I think of it this way. I'm paying 12 points (definitely not 24) to have another power in a Power Suite. Part of the cost of the privilege of paying only 12 points for a totally new power, complete with dots and built-in tags and maybe even extra tags, is that the power has one less tag than it could have if it were the base power. The "lost" tag is reserved for the Technique tag, which says "I'm part of that power up there". As far as I'm concerned, that's a really good deal.
    (Note that the base power does not have to include an extra Technique tag.)

    The...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Fortunatus; 07-18-2019, 10:06 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Fortunatus
    replied to Let's Build Power Suites
    Here's my spacetime controller's Power Suite. I've actually played her in one session of our Aberrant-playtest-that-hopefully-lasts-a-good-long-time game. So far, so good.

    Elemental Mastery (spacetime) 3, Base power: Quantum Anima (free: Might Scale 3, Strike), Duration (1: Maintenance), Technique (3)
    [3 dots for 36 points + 4 tags for 48 points = 84 points]
    * Technique: Quantum Field 3 (free: Scale 3, Rating 2, Complete, Environmental 1, Soft 2), Technique
    * Technique: Remote Perception 3, Technique
    * Technique: Warp 1 (can't be more than Quantum - 2) (free:...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:

No activity results to display
Show More

Profile Sidebar

Collapse
Fortunatus
Fortunatus
Member
Last Activity: Today, 11:24 AM
Joined: 12-20-2016
Location:
Working...
X