Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

User Profile

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
  • Source
Clear All
new posts

  • projectmoon
    replied to Artifacts and Reach
    Thank you for the clarification. I think it's the "on their own" part that was confusing to me....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • projectmoon
    replied to Artifacts and Reach
    That's a fairly sane way to interpret it. For me it personally depends on the artifact. Some allow mages to alter their Reach, others don't.

    Does one need to apply Instant Casting to an artifact's power, or do the trigger conditions override that?
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • projectmoon
    started a topic Artifacts and Reach

    Artifacts and Reach

    The rules on this are vague (or rather, non-existent). When you map spell effects for Artifacts, does that include their Reach effects? The merit says "Artifacts cannot Reach beyond the 'free' Reach for their Arcana ratings on their own. If an Artifact risks Paradox, the user can spend Mana to mitigate Paradox (in any combination of her own or the Artifact’s Mana pool, up to her Gnosis-derived limits) and may choose to contain the Paradox herself. Otherwise, the Artifact automatically releases it." This implies that mages can alter the effects that the Artifact casts with their own...
    See more | Go to post

  • projectmoon
    replied to Sell me on the orders
    I would say that the Pentacle is anywhere near perfect harmony. Guardians are not trusted by many due to their sneaky and assassinating ways, extreme members of the Free Council advocate open war against the Seers and Silver Ladder, the Mysterium likes to take Mysteries away from other mages... Not to mention the Nameless War in the 19th century.

    Most of the time the Pentacle is able to cooperate with one another, but they can just as easily fall prey to the tribalism and divisions that affect Sleepers.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • projectmoon
    replied to Reflexive spells
    It's 2 Reach and a point of Mana to cast reflexively, but this isn't allowed in normal circumstances. It seems to be usable in situations where a reflexive action would fit into the spell:
    • Suppress Life: You could cast it reflexively to make it look like someone suddenly died from some probably cause, even though they're still alive.
    • Exceptional Luck: Put a boon or hex on someone, and luck tends to be a "spontaneous" thing, a "sudden twist of [F]ate" as it were.
    I think these are the only two spells in the book that allow this Reach option.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • I have actually read that before, and I wasn't exactly sure what it was staying. I thought it was referring to the die bonus itself, or something. "By default, this lasts for a week" is a very confusing sentence in this context. It could be much clearer, e.g. "By default, the wisps of the mage's identity last for one week."

    But it does make sense that wisps of identity would last for a week.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Does Signature Nimbus linger after a spell is gone? If so, how long?

    The question is in the title. This is something I've always wondered, and it's kind of important for tracking enemy mages that might have used magic recently, but their spells have run out of Duration.
    See more | Go to post

  • projectmoon
    replied to Magic and Outer Space.
    It's more about what you'd find in the Astral that might have sympathetic connections to the planetary body. The Anima Mundi is very specifically full of all sorts of strange stuff, so who knows what's out there? It would definitely not be something like "Make 3 dice rolls to get into the Anima Mundi, then an Investigation roll to find your connection." It would be a good basis for a story.



    I'd assume that any mage with plans to go into outer space is probably going to protect themselves against the effects some way or another (mundane or magically)....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • projectmoon
    replied to Magic and Outer Space.
    There's no reason it wouldn't work in 2nd edition. In fact, I've had to (jokingly) house rule in my game that just because you can see the Moon, it doesn't mean that it's in sensory range.

    Most of the problem with mages and doing crazy things like teleporting to the moon or another planet revolve around how difficult it is to get there and then survive there. Can't teleport to the moon because you don't have any sympathetic connection to the moon. Same for another planet. Where could you find such things? I'd say out in the astral solar system of the Anima Mundi. A mage who wants...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:

No activity results to display
Show More

Profile Sidebar

Collapse
Profile Picture
projectmoon
Member
Last Activity: Yesterday, 11:38 AM
Joined: 03-01-2017
Location:
Working...
X