Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

User Profile

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
  • Source
Clear All
new posts

  • Kelly Pedersen
    replied to Ask a question, get an answer
    However, later in CoTD: The North, the text does say "The Solar First Sun’s Cry broke the Spidersilk Dam in a spiteful deathblow..." (p. 11). So even if it didn't happen exactly as described in the comic, I'd say it's 2e canon that it did happen....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Kelly Pedersen
    replied to Ask a question, get an answer
    Yes, assuming you're talking about the sea that lies between the northernmost continent and the long penninsula-continent that Whitewall is located on.



    According to Dreams of the First Age ("White Valley Province", p. 159), the basin of the White Sea was the home of the Primordial Ta’akozoka, the Great Tentacled One. Damming it cut her off from the sea, which apparently killed her.



    It was dammed at the start of the First Age, in the Primordial War, by the Spidersilk Dam, to accomplish the aforementioned slaying of Ta’akozoka....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Kelly Pedersen
    replied to Are the Dragon Blooded the good guys?
    I think there's an important distinction to be made here between two different concepts, and using "good" for both of them is clouding the issue. You can be competent at running an organization/nation/empire/whatever - your orders are clear and easily understood, they make sense and use your resources to best advantage, you convince your followers to obey them happily, and so forth - without your goals in running things being morally correct. All the Exalted have the ability to achieve their goals with supernatural effectiveness. What none of them have is the supernatural ability to...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Kelly Pedersen
    replied to Help,New ST. Want To include sidereal
    I'm finding it a bit difficult to understand what you're actually asking here, so here's a couple of clarifying questions.

    First, are you playing Second Edition, or Third Edition?

    Second, do you want to include Sidereals as player characters, or non-player-characters?

    If you're playing Second Edition, you can include Sidereals, of the Gold Faction or any other, with the 2e book Manual of Exalted Power: Sidereals, and I would heavily recommend using their errata (which you can download for free here) - the 2e Sidereal charms had many problems, which the errata...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Kelly Pedersen
    replied to Ask the Devs
    As sort of a follow-up to this question, is Weigh Down Armor intended to apply to natural armor? Can a DB hit a pestletail, for example, and immobilize it?...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Kelly Pedersen
    replied to Alchemicals and 3E
    I don't think that's as explicit as you think, actually. A quick skim through Compass: Autochthonia doesn't turn up any references to factories being naturally formed in the Reaches, and definitely does turn up references to factories being built by Autochthonians (e.g., in the description of Arad, "Its modern, neon-drenched streets and factories and dormitories are constructed over the rusting, sinking remnants of older districts and abandoned, obsolete Municipal Charms.", emphasis mine, Compass of Celestial Directions 6: Autocthonia, p. 26, or in the description of Perfected Hydraulic...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Depends on what you mean by "zone of truth" and "small", really. For Terrestrial Ambition 1, I'd allow a patch big enough for one person (or maybe a couple if they're very good friends), which would effectively Read Intentions on someone within it, and if it overcame their Guile, react in some way to a lie. For Terrestrial 2, you'd get either a bit more detail (the lie indicator could tell which part of a statement was a lie, for example), or more area (enough to cover a few people). For Terrestrial 3, I'd start allowing the working to effectively make social influence rolls...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Summoning an unbound demon of 1st or 2nd Circle is an Ambition 1 working of the relevant circle. Notably, 3rd Circle demons are not listed in Solar 1, which I strongly suspect is not accidental. If it were possible to summon unbound Unquestionable into the world, some incautious sorcerer would have done it at some point, and they could have destroyed or otherwise grossly changed a large chunk of Creation - the Unquestionable are not to be fucked with....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Kelly Pedersen
    replied to Exalted Play-by-post roleplay/forums
    The forums on RPG.net host a pretty active PbP section. It's not devoted to Exalted specifically, but there are certainly at least a couple of games of it, and you can always try to start a new one, too.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • I think I'd rule that a couple such workings are basically part of the "Sorcerous Infrastructure" Means, in fact....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • I'm not sure I'd ever allow "one degree easier". Making summoning 2nd Circle demons into a Terrestrial 1 working just wouldn't, well, work. What I would allow is a working to count as a Means for other workings if it was at the same Circle and Ambition (so, for example, a Terrestrial 1 working would serve as a means to summon a 1st Circle demon). I might allow a working three levels higher than the target working to reduce the target by one ambition level, but that would never reduce the target's actual circle, so applying it to Terrestrial 1 or Celestial 1 workings would be useless...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Kelly Pedersen
    replied to Ask a question, get an answer
    Greyman is correct about not being allowed to "mix" charms of different Abilities on the same attack. However, on this question, I assume you're asking about a more general question, of a grapple initiated by something other than unarmed (a whip or fighting chain, for example), and then using Brawl charms on subsequent rounds of the grapple?

    This is a bit of a fuzzy area, I'd say. Neither of the existing weapons with the Grappling tag are wielded with Brawling - if either of them were, I'd be fine saying that you could use Brawl charms on such a grapple freely. I think what...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Kelly Pedersen; 08-02-2018, 10:56 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Not much of either, though. As long as the ST agrees it's appropriate, you can degrade a minor intimacy away at the end of a scene, without rolling or anything. As an ST, I'd allow a Lunar to drop the intimacy created through MDM at the end of a scene they dropped the commitment to it, or at the end of the next scene at the very latest....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • You don't lose the intimacy, but I can't see any reason why you can't just choose to degrade it as normal. However, I can see also wanting to keep the Tie - depending on how you read the charm, I think keeping the tie could possibly allow you to re-activate Memory-Drinking Meditation for that particular intimacy at a later time, preserving the possibility of memory access....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • I tend to assume it doesn't in this thread, since the rules for sorcerous workings are a purely 3e thing. If you want to ask about stuff in a 2e context, I'd suggest specifying that.



    Personally, I doubt that, if the process for refining orichalcum out of gold is ever detailed in 3e, that it will be thaumaturgy-level stuff. Rather, I suspect it would be a craft project of its own, probably Superior-level. In any case, even in 2e terms, I wouldn't let just any old lava serve the process. I think you should still need appropriately-pure lava, something that doesn't have...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • To me, it's not the size that matters so much, it's the potential magical material creation. I'll note that Arms says that forging gold into orichalcum is a "lost art" anyways, but even if you're assuming it's available, I don't think Terrestrial-tier sorcerers should be getting easy access to the means to do it. Hence, celestial at the lowest, to create a lava flow that's specifically suitable for making orichalcum.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Kelly Pedersen
    replied to Ask a question, get an answer
    I had forgotten about Kimbery's Dawn, yeah. Which sourcebook was that in? If I recall correctly, it suggested that a Progenitive Soul was a special case where the overall Yozi was going to create a new 3rd Circle soul, and the Progenitive Soul would eventually "upgrade" from 2nd Circle to become the new 3rd Circle?
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Kelly Pedersen
    replied to Ask a question, get an answer
    Seven, according to 2e's Roll of Glorious Divinity 2: Ghosts and Demons, anyway. There were seven defined roles for the 2nd-circle demons: Warden, Indulgent, Defining, Messenger, Expressive, Reflective, and Wisdom....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • I'd say that anything capable of producing any of the magical materials falls into at least Celestial-tier workings ("instilling supernatural power into the mundane world."). The exact size and how much orichalcum it could produce would depend on the Ambition....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Kelly Pedersen
    replied to Ask the Devs
    As always, thanks for the response! One follow-up:



    Do you think it's reasonable to treat the line in Words-as-Workshop Method as effectively upgrading Craftsman Needs No Tools, so that it does provide the tools necessary for artifact creation, but without the speed boost? It seems to me that that's still a bonus, since by my read of WaWM, each use of it provides one tool, so it's still a benefit to pay 6 motes for Craftsman Needs No Tools, and get a bunch of tools capable of crafting artifacts, just not ones that provide artifact-level bonuses themselves....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:

No activity results to display
Show More

Profile Sidebar

Collapse
Kelly Pedersen
Kelly Pedersen
Member
Last Activity: Today, 08:42 PM
Joined: 12-05-2013
Location:
Working...
X