Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

User Profile

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
  • Source
Clear All
new posts

  • Those 3 seem to be the only things that increase Clashes for mages yes....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • totalgit
    totalgit posted a Visitor Message for thenate
    One thing i did notice was both hex and boon have text saying they each don't stack. No hex + hex or boon + boon, no mention of hex + boon though. So i take it that means hex's and boon's are separate aspects of a character....
    See more | Go to post

  • Since they aren't spells they don't count towards spell control.
    Platonic form costs 1 mana to cast plus whatever mana you put into its mana capacity. I would say filling this capacity is not part of the cost of the spell and the reach just allows the mage to fill it at the time of casting bypassing the need to use channel mana later.

    But then ridiculous mana generation from a mage isn't anything that OP compared to other things they can do. The reach does say "by spending mana as part of the casting" which would mean gaining mana from nowhere....
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by totalgit; 03-10-2020, 05:45 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • totalgit
    replied to Paradox Conditions, Questions
    Monster & Unclean don't infect a mages pattern (monster infects an animal and unclean must attach to yantra tools) hence cant be scoured out. I'm fine with only paradox conditions that invade a mages pattern being able to be scoured and having examples of conditions that don't.

    When I first read the paradox condition text and it mentions scouring conditions for no mana I thought "Hmm, when can you do that" only later to read the paradox conditions resolution bit and think "ok that's when". I didn't then and still don't see any conflict in the text. It's odd...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by totalgit; 03-08-2020, 08:13 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • totalgit
    replied to Paradox Conditions, Questions
    The two methods of resolution it mentions are whatever the condition says will resolve as described in its resolution text AND letting it lapse. Those are the two methods for resolving conditions, it just happens that one of those methods has multiple options in it, which even includes the first option.

    The text says "Removing a Paradox Condition in this manner" which you could read as only scouring a paradox condition means no mana, since it doesn't mention taint as also not giving you mana. Otherwise, it would have said, "Removing a Paradox condition or taint in this...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by totalgit; 03-07-2020, 04:45 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • totalgit
    replied to Paradox Conditions, Questions
    Again, pretty easy to answer RAW when the resolution for every example paradox conditions says you can resolve them by scouring the condition. And in the text prior says what happens when you do (dont get the mana). My question is if you scour the taint do you get the mana from it?...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • I see no real problem with gaining 3 temp willpower that are filled, spending 3 then loosing 3 willpower having your normal willpower. It becomes a problem when you can spend dots of willpower for things though. But ive always had it that if you spend a dot you have always lost a dot, even if you had temp willpower dots. Once you loose the temp willpower you have still lost a dot.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • 1) If you cast a spell with multiple subjects, then that's one spell but those subjects can then part ways if somebody then later dispelled that spell it would only dispel it on that subject and not the other subjects. If the caster chooses to lower that spells potency then all the subjects have the potency lowered and obviously if he ends the spell then all subjects lose the spells effect too.

    2) Since SV says its subjects can include spells, then you'd need to add multiple targets to veil multiple spells. Casting SV with oneself as the subject would only hide yourself from detection....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Letting it lapse resolves the condition. You don't scour a condition if you let it lapse, you scour the taint that is left behind by it lapsing and tainting your magic. You keep the taint until your scour it as at this point the only way to remove it is by scouring which could be long after the condition has gone. Before this point, while you still have the condition, you can resolve the condition by either of its resolution options, one of which just happens to also be scouring the condition itself.

    The fact the resolution requirements for the three abyssal conditions have "the...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by totalgit; 03-04-2020, 02:19 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Checking earlier discussions about paradox conditions it seems people think the text is wrong and that you cant just scour the condition to remove it before it lapses. There were lots of references to the text contradicting itself etc.

    It says each paradox condition has 2 resolution mechanics. One being to accept the negative qualities and the other is to let it lapse.

    For Abyssal Nimbus this is:

    Resolution mechanic 1: Letting the condition lapse, you gain an arcane beat and become tainted, the only way to remove the taint (not condition) is to scour it out....
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by totalgit; 03-04-2020, 09:52 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Its usable by mortals (possibly other supernatural splats) with the requisite knowledge/research. It doesn't require merit or to be supernatural. It's not really a supernatural ritual more just mundane stuff that messes with ephemeral entities materialization conditions. It still, however, needs the various research rolls etc as written. You should have huge penalties if you just attempted an exorcism without research etc....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • The text says

    The second option is to scour it from your pattern. So just do that?

    Scouring after letting a condition lapse is to remove the taint it leaves behind not to remove the condition itself (since it's gone having already lapsed), you don't have to wait for the condition to lapse to scour it. So take a point of lethal damage and gain no mana from it like normal scouring to remove the condition before it lapses. You won't gain the arcane beat though since you didn't wait and let it lapse....
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by totalgit; 03-03-2020, 10:28 AM.

    Leave a comment:

No activity results to display
Show More

Profile Sidebar

Collapse
totalgit
totalgit
Member
Last Activity: 03-26-2020, 11:24 AM
Joined: 12-05-2013
Location:
Working...
X