Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

User Profile

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
  • Source
Clear All
new posts

  • Just remember and I don't know if it is spelled out in the core book but SoS makes it clear that only one spell in an imbued item can be contingent (ie triggered). SoS also tries to clear up imbued items, adds flexible reach which allows the user to reduce any reach used as without this option if an item has an advanced duration, it will always use advanced duration.

    Not sure how or if that one contingent spell can be a combined spell. It'd give me an aneurysm if I had to try to work it out I think.


    So either you have it contingent on a trigger and the user can...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by totalgit; Yesterday, 07:07 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Wrongly i always assumed mages could reflexively activate mage armor on the turn they get surprised.(reading too many "haha i can snipe a mage vs no you cant cos mage armor" arguments no doubt.) The "works vs surprise" text is just allowing you to use already active mage armors that increase defense to be useful while surprised. Active matter armor giving 3 armor when surprised vs active fate armor without the text saying it works vs surprise would do nothing since it would be increasing something you couldn't then use when surprised. Makes sense now.

    It does give...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Doesn't mention a cap of 3 rote skills though. It's not something that is explicitly mentioned I think (maybe in SoS), but p82 of core lists the 3 rote skills of each order and to qualify for the +1 order rote bonus to mudras you only ever have a 3 skill list to choose from which would depend on your current order. So while I didn't think rote skills were capped at 3 of the top of my head when going to see what would happen if you changed order it's pretty clear that your rote skills would have changed to the 3 from your new order....
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by totalgit; 02-17-2020, 04:24 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • So I have found somebody else asking this question years ago on rpg.net where the answer from dave was that when surprised people only get the mage armor part. So it seems that is the correct interpretation of it, however, badly conveyed it is. "Characters with mage armor that increases defense can use the bonus even while surprised." would have been clearer? Though "works vs surprise" must also let you use a reflexive action to turn mage armor on, otherwise you'd need it up before being surprised, which might be intentional, I'm unsure.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • It could also use the firing Vs a incapacitated person and the person gets full dicepool successes. It's basically the same as putting a gun right up to a sleeping person and firing, anything bar supernatural defense and they should get blammed hard.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Rereading SoS and it seems its possible to alter rotes. P82 mentions being able to change the rote skill of a rote. Which sounds like its technically developing your own Mudra for the new skill. The downside is that unlike making your own rote you do not get the rote action effect. (but you werent getting that anyways before you change the skill involved.)...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by totalgit; 02-15-2020, 07:50 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • p69 of the core book and p169 of requiem 2e has this little gem...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by totalgit; 02-12-2020, 07:02 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • There are no written mechanical long term effects of daily scouring, that doesn't mean you can't come up with them, it might even develop into an obsession?

    The example from SoS about PMS is a mage casting a spell behind a closed door. It only triggers your PMS if the spell's area of effect encompasses you otherwise its blocked by the door. If you couldn't see the spell's origin in that building or if it was a room area effect and you weren't in that room in the building then no your PMS would not get triggered by a spell you cant perceive in a building across the street, if they...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by totalgit; 02-08-2020, 06:57 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • You could be right and they are not the same effect but then you could also say that modifying an attribute up or down is the same effect, it is only the value that is different too (positive or negative its still a modification to an attribute after all) even if they are not the same effect they DO affect the same aspect of the character (Strength). Which is all the spell stacking rules require for them to function? Does stack for this purpose means only positive modifiers? Well no since two negative modifiers would also not stack? Does it then mean only the same type of modifiers? So you cant...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by totalgit; 02-08-2020, 12:44 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • So this is a doozy and I'm surprised it has not come up before:

    The spell stacking rules state "

    Now the question is if a character had a "Honing the form spell" with potency 3 giving +3 to strength on them and somebody else casts a "Degrading the form" also on strength spell with a potency of 2 to give -2 strength. (both spells have a week duration) Will the degrading spell be suppressed due to the spell stacking rules because both spells affect the same aspect of the character. IE Strength. The fact that one is a positive modifier and one is...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by totalgit; 02-07-2020, 08:38 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • You can develop your own rotes with an arcana at 5 and then choose the rote skill for it. Thats effectively developing your own mudras. Try not to use the term permanent for indefinite and relinquished too, it looks like you already know they can be dispelled and/or eroded eventually but it still the wrong term and can confuse new people....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • That spurs me to reread "The unmurdered Man" and "The human heart"....
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by totalgit; 01-24-2020, 04:13 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Yup, the concord is between the Putnums and the Noose, they signed it instead of going to war with each other over Salem. Which leads me to believe both must have found something worse for them to pause and sign it right? Its stated as a mystical pact so there has to be bad repercussions for either (and the third signatory) if it breaks right? The whole Concord thing with no explanation really does annoy me, I would rather have even a sidebar of "Here is what the default Concord is" and let me ignore it than tease it but never explain it.

    I've said before that my players...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by totalgit; 01-24-2020, 12:33 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • rules would be where to find the rules. 1/2 the other objects size + 1/10th speed, blah blah page 99 as somebody else said.

    Considering buildings can have a huge size, I would probably limit hitting a wall of one to the same size as the vehicle maybe....
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by totalgit; 01-21-2020, 02:10 PM.

    Leave a comment:

No activity results to display
Show More

Profile Sidebar

Collapse
totalgit
totalgit
Member
Last Activity: Today, 12:04 AM
Joined: 12-05-2013
Location:
Working...
X