Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

User Profile

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
  • Source
Clear All
new posts

  • I think that while the actions of doing and avoiding damage are solved in V5 with one roll, they're still distinct...phenomena...so to speak.

    For instance, having more attack successes than your foe won't ALWAYS imply you don't suffer damage from their attack...as it's the case with the "total attack" rules in advanced rules. In that case the other party ignores your attack roll for purposes of defense, but you still get to cause damage if you roll higher than they

    Celerity 5 it's supposed to make your attack ignore any defense...but, as far as I can see, it's...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Aleph
    replied to Help me play a technocrat
    Yes, and yes but not in the way you think.



    They believe that the Traditions use different (dangerous/unmutual) methods. They believe that the other mages are also geniuses that use fringe and untested properties of reality to do their stuff

    The Enligthement it's the same and Mystics are stupid (and dangerous) for not understanding they're Genius powered unconventional science. Meanwhile SoE and VA are dangerous (and stupid) because they use similarly untested and fringe sciences, and they should know better.

    And some Technocrats even realize...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Aleph; 01-21-2019, 05:23 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Aleph
    replied to Using Mind to possess animals
    Well, it's certainly possible. I think it's a reasonable interpretation and Mind IT'S a Sphere that's known for allowing to do extraordinary things at lower levels....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Aleph
    replied to Using Mind to possess animals
    Yes you can gain multi-tasking trough MInd 1. But what that means it's not necessarily clear. In Revised at least it wasn't clear, perhaps in M20 it is clear, I don't remember.

    It could mean that you get a difficulty reduction or something like that when doing more than one mental task at the same time. A bit like being "ambidextrous" in Mage (as per the Merit) doesn't really grant you one extra action. I don't think "multi-task" explicitly states that these extra actions are completely w/o penalty.

    I think that would take either Time 3 (as Enginseer-42...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Aleph; 01-18-2019, 03:36 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Aleph
    replied to Using Mind to possess animals
    I would argue that, since Astral Travel allows your mind to leave your body and travel anywhere w/o Correspondence, you can possess an animal to control it w/o Correspondence at Mind 4-5...if you're willing to leave your body and invade the animal's mind, that is. Using Mind 4 this way it's less effective than Mind 5 because it only allows to travel out of body for a few minutes

    Otherwise, yes, you would need Corr 4 to control the animal at distance....
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Aleph; 01-18-2019, 10:51 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • If my memory serves, that stuff was presented as part of the "One World of Darkness" idea that WW tossed a year or two ago.

    That project didn't made too far as far as I know. Other rumors of that time period haven't been canonized, like Technocracy being behind SI. The ideas presented at that time for M5 (if it happens at all) may change too. Especially now that WW's V5 had such a heavy backlash, I think a change of direction may be in the future....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Aleph
    replied to Orphan Archmage ?
    Yeah, you're quite right about that.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Aleph
    replied to Orphan Archmage ?
    Would you say the same for a Hermetic and a Chorister that had a similar Paradigm, share ideas, and form a Multi-Tradition cabal?.

    I think that forming a Craft requires a certain willingness to pass your knowledge outside established factions. Merely sharing ideas between friends (which, I think, should be common practice within the Traditions) isn't quite enough, albeit it could be a beginning of such a transition (if, say, the Hermetic and the Chorister chose to go solo and spread their ideas they could form a Craft. But if they *just* chose to go solo I would call them a Roge cabal...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Aleph; 01-16-2019, 10:40 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Aleph
    replied to Orphan Archmage ?
    Not all Solitaries are Orphans and not all Orphans are Solitaries.

    I think the overlap it's statistical rather than axiomatic: Orphans are self-taught mages that aren't part of a Faction. Having that in mind, it's entirely possible for several Orphans with Paradigms that they learnt on their own to band together for convenience, which would make an Orphan cabal. Such Orphans wouldn't be Solitaries. But, of course, mages are rare and thus nearby awakenings and Orphans banding together are rare.

    Also an experienced Orphan could start initiating people into his Paradigm,...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Aleph; 01-15-2019, 11:14 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • That's not quite true.

    1° The requeriments on Primium are explicitly dependant on Paradigm as the method AND resources employed by Iteration X it's not the same as the one employed by the Childrens of Knowledge and thus presumably other methods that require less or no base materials could be invented.

    2° None of the resources employed by Primium can't be conjured. You can conjure gold and the other requires props. You can conjure a lab complete with it's own energy. You can even conjure the Tass with enough Prime.

    You do need "special knowledge",...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Aleph; 01-11-2019, 08:14 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Aleph
    replied to Rivals to Pentex
    Thanks for the name.

    However, mummies enemies of Gaia?, the Silent Striders didn't seem to believe that when they formed part of the Osirian League. Do you think that the Glaswalkers would prove to be more close-minded and harder to approach than the Striders?....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Aleph
    replied to Nineteenth Century Shortcuts?
    I would argue that, much like Dracula it's a "real vampire" in WoD that can do lot's of stuff that the original Dracula wasn't ever shown doing (like, say, high levels of Vicissitude), all those famous characters of the books would be "based" arround legendary mages able to do more stuff than their fictional counterparts.

    WoD often divinizes these classic characters. After all, think that Frankenstein's Monster it's an Awakened construct in the canon (I don't think the original Monster was much of a wizard...)

    Having said that, I like the idea of marin:...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Yes, that's true, however this thread it's about what a mage can't do no matter how many Spheres he has at 5, it's about what "ordinary magick" can't do...

    That's why stuff like manipulating Paradox beyond simple reduction it's mentioned, in spite of the fact Prime Archmasters can explicitly do so.

    I believe that, for mages, "totally impossible" just means "maybe I'm going to have to leave the Sanctum and work my elbows for this one"...but that's not to say that there aren't things beyond having 9 Spheres at 5 and a bucket of Arete dice -...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Aleph; 01-09-2019, 10:32 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Aleph
    replied to Ritual questions
    Indeed, but if you read the whole Warding section you may see that it does cover these kind of effects we're talking about:



    Of course, "influence" doesn't say a lot, but let's keep reading...




    So, Wards can release magical attacks on trespassing acording to HDYDT.

    Altrough there's no actual rule preventing to use any of this in a Minor Ward, one could argue that you need a Major Ward in order to harm someone or cast particularly potent spells (whatever that means), because Minor Wards aren't supposed to cause harm....
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Aleph; 01-08-2019, 04:31 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Metamagic in the sense of "altering how magick works" it's usually impossible or very hard. I.E: to increase the power or reach of an existing curse you would have to cast a bigger one, you can't cast more than one effect per turn w/o outside help (like with Talismans), you can't magically raise your Arete dicepool, etc...

    ...but changing Paradigms it's very possible. M20 has it explicitly mentioned as an Entropy 5 effect (it's in the section about eroding Belief), but, really, the most famous Paradigm-changing effect would be the Traditionalist to Technocrat conversion...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Aleph; 01-08-2019, 03:04 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Aleph
    replied to How do you make a robot?
    Electro-magnets can be activated and deactivated on comand, and can produce complex movement on such comands - they effectively move upon my directions transmited by a button or other devise, which can be as simple as a lever or as complex as a cortical implant on my brain.

    In a robot all the logic it's in the program, which it's just a set of instructions that are to be followed that aren't different from pulling a series of levers. Programs were originally analogic (cards or valves), so, as you see, this isn't an exageration: A sufficently complex system of YES/NOP levers could...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Aleph; 12-28-2018, 06:40 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Aleph
    replied to Ritual questions
    For your simple but quite unbreakable spells you want the Minor Wards (Correspondence 2+/ Other Spheres) from HDYDT:

    Minor Wards cannot really block anything but they can hold other spells that are automagically triggered when someone crosses the barrier.

    Wards that aren't set on a location but on an object or person have to be "locked" there with the appropiate Pattern Sphere. The level of Correspondence needed it's either equal to the highest Sphere level used in the Ward or 2, whatever it's higher (Similar as when you use Corr to cast at distance).
    ...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Aleph; 12-28-2018, 03:28 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • While "indiscriminately hostile" goes a little too far and certainly some Choristers would try to help good vampires, the Celestial Chorus it's way more militaristic than you seem to believe. In particular the Guardian Orders are more known for their zeal than their mercy.

    As a honorable mention: The Knights of St. George. An order founded in Syria in the 11th century and dedicated to protecting humanity from vampires and other monsters such as demons and werewolves, they admit women and non-christians freely. Emulating St. George and his slaying of the dragon, this self-professed...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Aleph
    replied to Ritual questions
    Most effects don't stack. If you have +2 to Strenght, in order to get +3 you need to gather the same amount of successes you would need if you had +0.

    The other spell doesn't get "enhanced", it's mostly ignored by the new magick and you get to keep the highest bonus of the two. However the lowest isn't dispelled, it just doesn't have any notable effect: If the +3 lasted a scene and the +2 lasted a year, your mage would have a +3 for the scene and return to the +2 when the scene ends.

    The only exception it's that bonuses are canceled by penalties and vice versa....
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Aleph; 12-27-2018, 12:10 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Aleph
    replied to Ritual questions
    Yes. They're considered "failures" because in a sense they are: you've not managed to get enough successes as you need yet. The good thing it's that you don't get an aditional +1 if you fail - geting 0 successes is a +1 like with any other number of successes. Only Botches are bad.



    No. The effect it's cast when the roll ends. Visually you could represent it as energy building up or muscles bulking, but system wise you can't get benefit until you complete the casting



    Life 3/Prime 3, it's a Charm (a one use Wonder, you can craft batches...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:

No activity results to display
Show More

Profile Sidebar

Collapse
Aleph
Aleph
Member
Last Activity: Today, 09:33 AM
Joined: 12-15-2013
Location:
Working...
X