Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

User Profile

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
  • Source
Clear All
new posts

  • limaxophobiac
    replied to Ask the Devs
    I was thinking of Aegis of Invincible Might and Sorcerer’s Impervious Mantle (ISoB power), which just say damage which I assume means dice....
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by limaxophobiac; Today, 05:31 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • limaxophobiac
    replied to Ask the Devs
    Related to Immortal Blade Triumphant; are automatic successes added to, or dice converted to automatic successes on the damage roll automatically assumed to happen post-soak, since damage isn't rolled untill after soak?

    Also how do automatic damage successes interact with soak, or post-soak damage reduction? If you have lets say 2 dice + 4 automatic damage successes post-soak and the defender cancells 5 post-soak damage, how much damage do you do?
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by limaxophobiac; Today, 04:26 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • limaxophobiac
    replied to Ask the Devs
    Do the passive bonuses of Immortal Blade Triumphant work on non-Melee attacks and parries with the weapon?
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • limaxophobiac
    replied to Healing Crippling Damage for Dummies
    Sorcerous workings can grow you a whole extra set of arms or legs for 4xp, so it should be able to fix you.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • limaxophobiac
    replied to Ask the Devs
    How does Shining Ice Mirrors attunement bonus + Single Point Form actually work out?

    Aim and Full Defense say they give a bonus on and untill your next turn (and the sword turn can't be used to Aim), so:

    1. If you aim on your own turn and then during the same round during your sword turn strike the target you aimed at, do you get (and use up) the aim bonus?

    2. How long does the benefit of Full Defense last, untill your next actual turn or only untill your next sword turn?
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • limaxophobiac
    replied to Ask the Devs
    Brutal.

    I'M IN UR CLASH
    BLOCKING UR ATTACKS

    Edit: Seriously though huge thanks for answering all my silly questions.
    ...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by limaxophobiac; 07-18-2017, 06:45 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • limaxophobiac
    replied to Ask the Devs
    Also a related Fervent Blow question, does the Decisive-Only tag mean it can only be used against a decisive attack, that the clash attack it creates has to be Decisive, or both? Basically is it considered a defensive charm, an attack charm, or both, since clashing is both a defense and an attack.
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by limaxophobiac; 07-18-2017, 03:53 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • limaxophobiac
    replied to Ask the Devs
    Damn. Melee clash monsters are crazy.

    Ok, another Clash question: what happens if characters A and B clash, and character C is defending other for character A?

    Clash says it ignores both characters defense, but character Cs parry is neither of the clashing characters defenses and defend other says the defender can apply his Parry against any attack directed at his ward so it seems like defend other can defend but what happens?

    If character B beats Cs parry does he get the choice of either hitting C or matching his remaining successes against As attack?...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • limaxophobiac
    replied to Ask the Devs
    Can you clash, by regular attack on the same turn or Fervent Blow or the like, an unblockable + undodgable attack?
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by limaxophobiac; 07-18-2017, 05:51 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • limaxophobiac
    replied to Ask a question, get an answer
    That's what the text seems to say to me too, my problem is if you allow these things martial artists basically get to have their cake and eat it too and a whole bunch of unholy gamebreaking combinations become possible that I can't imagine are actually intended....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • limaxophobiac
    replied to Has anyone used Steel Devil Style?
    RAW there are no artifact hook swords though, and if there were you'd still have to aquire and attune them as 2 seperate artifacts, which Short Daiklaves saves you from. The bonuses of artifact weapons over mortal weapons are pretty huge.

    I also really dont think throwing Crane in there is worth it over being able to use Armor/Invulnerable Skin of Bronze and the opportunity cost of using that xp for something else.
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by limaxophobiac; 07-17-2017, 06:00 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • limaxophobiac
    replied to Has anyone used Steel Devil Style?
    Why the hook swords? If I'm not missing something Crane doesn't really combo well with stealth (and between 13 steel devil charms + evocations + stealth charms it'll take forever untill you'd start expanding into another style anyway) so if you're going stealth + Steel Devil you'd surely be wielding Short Daiklaves no?...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by limaxophobiac; 07-17-2017, 03:02 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • limaxophobiac
    replied to Ask a question, get an answer
    After reading through Steel Devil due to the other thread on it currently, I have two question, one about a single charm and one again about the rules for combining charms in general:

    1. Does the disarm gambit from Iron Lotus Unfurling require an attack roll, or just an initiative roll for the gambit? The charm has the counterattack keyword but it also allows you to do a Sonic Slash attack if the disarm succeeds so does it let you create 2 attacks, one disarm and one Sonic Slash, or is the disarm just a simple initiative roll and the potential Sonic Slash is the counterattack?...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by limaxophobiac; 07-17-2017, 11:57 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • limaxophobiac
    replied to Has anyone used Steel Devil Style?
    There's a lot of solar charms that let you do that. There's also probably less than 100 solars in all creation who have focused enough on combat to have learned those charms, and a good chunk of them you should be able to find common ground with on account of having the same enemies if you run into them.

    For other enemies onlsaught penalty ignoring abilities are pretty far from universal, and usually more expensive than Double Attack Technique is. Of the celestial exalt sample antagonists only the Abyssal has one (which makes sense since Solar and Abyssal charms are probably a lot...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by limaxophobiac; 07-17-2017, 07:52 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Well if it's jade, a simple 'took it from some DB who attacked you for being anathema' works.

    For orichalcum, one idea I've had but not used is an ancient artifact kept as a ceremonial sacred weapon for a remote tribe, said to have been wielded by some mythic hero in ages past. Cue a young warrior of the tribe who one day starts glowing gold picking it up and wielding it, hailed as said hero born again.
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by limaxophobiac; 07-16-2017, 12:45 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • limaxophobiac
    replied to Ask a question, get an answer
    Table Turning Reversal in Black Claw Style can do it if they attack you.

    Edit: I didn't realise you were talking about 2E, I'm dumb....
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by limaxophobiac; 07-12-2017, 07:21 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • limaxophobiac
    replied to Ask a question, get an answer
    I guess you better not try disarm attempts while there's unarmed crane stylists around.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • limaxophobiac
    replied to Ask a question, get an answer
    What happens if character A defends other for character B, and an enemy attacks character B and beats character As defense but not with enough successes left over to overcome character Bs defense, and the attack is inapplicable to character A? For example if an unarmed character defends other for an armed character against a disarm attempt.

    Nothing?

    Is the attacker forced to try to strike the innitial target?

    If not does the attacker lose initiative for a failed decisive attack even though he beat the defense value? Does he lose innitiative equal to gambit...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by limaxophobiac; 07-11-2017, 03:29 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • limaxophobiac
    replied to Crafting Vs Workings
    Solars with generous amounts of downtime. Going from 1 week to 3 months on the default interval + probably needing more intervals thanks to the higher difficulty....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • limaxophobiac
    replied to Crafting Vs Workings
    Being able to do do even Solar Circle workings costs you only 3 charms, giving you 3 spells which are almost certainly incredibly usefull and would be worth getting all on their own even if sorcerous workings weren't a thing, and give you access to the cool stuff you can get from 3 different Shaping Rituals, and then on top of that as a free bonus you get the ability to spend some solar xp to create new gods and rewrite the rules of reality. I have a really hard time seeing how this could ever been seen as anything but an absolutely amazing deal.

    Too be honest when I saw the thread...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by limaxophobiac; 07-10-2017, 04:09 AM.

    Leave a comment:

No activity results to display
Show More

Profile Sidebar

Collapse
Profile Picture
limaxophobiac
Member
Last Activity: Today, 09:32 PM
Joined: 03-24-2014
Location:
Working...
X