Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

User Profile

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
  • Source
Clear All
new posts

  • Yeah, that would probably be it, an ending of an era, the alchemy of time.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Yeah, you’re right, Time primary with secondary Death, first attainments blocked temporal and mundane investigations, Second was an enhanced danger sense and damage to objects, and third was manipulation of the future and and enhanced mundane damage.

    Just to add to the history a bit, they went through a purge when they picked up an infestation of Banishers, probably because their view of magic resonates with those who actively hate it on some levels.
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Mrmdubois; Today, 08:50 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • In terms of philosophy they believe that vulgar magic is inherently harmful to reality so they eschew vulgar magic entirely and take oaths to that effect. That would probably translate to obvious magic in 2e.

    In terms of attainments, I forget which was primary, but I believe they had Death and Matter which they used to enhance their mundane equipment and skills, typically of the violent variety because a lot of them were war veterans....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • I mean if you -must- have combat, use stuff from the Abyss, or the Bound, or rank 6 entities, other Mages won't really do for a "typical" engagement unless they've entered some pre-arranged agreement for how matters will be settled, and you trust them not to cheat.
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Mrmdubois; Yesterday, 05:00 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Mrmdubois
    replied to Reflexive spells
    Technically, no it’s not. That would impose a new spell as the Hung Spell ends, arthexis is talking about a spell that benefits you when everything is turned to the non magical status quo....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Yeah, though if you really wanted to target all spells you’d be better off using the Prime 4 version that doesn’t have additional arcana prerequisites.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Yes, AoE considers anything inside its area that could be a viable target for the spell to be one of its subjects.

    Also, yeah, it’s powerful. This is Mage we’re talking about, and I don’t know why you expected it to be any less.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Source is the rules in the book. I fail to see how it’s a balance issue. If you wish to be indiscriminate you use AoE, if you want to affect multiple specific targets you use number of Subjects....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • If you cast an AoE Dispel then you check its Potency against the Withstand of every spell in the area. If the Potency is higher than the Withstand then the dispel works, if it isn’t then the dispel doesn’t work. It’s pretty straightforward, and works the same way whether you’re using Scale for AoE or number of subjects.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • That’s part of the inherent danger of open conflict between Mages, that’s why they avoid it. It’s in fact the exact reason that the Right if Nemesis exists so that if two parties do go into open conflict it won’t spill over and if it does everyone comes after the guy dumb enough to involve bystanders.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • The rules about Mudras are in a subsection for the Yantra rules, it doesn’t specifically disallow the use of Mudras on other kinds of spells, but it is implicit in the text because it only talks about using mudras in the context of Rotes.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • The question about combined damage spells came up and was answered on the forums, essentially it boils down to the fact that if you cast two spells with identical Potency and purpose only one will take effect. On spells with Duration this will cause one spell to essentially be a backup that will kick in if the “active” one is dispelled. On an instant spell like a damage spell though only one instance will take effect.

    Mudras are specifically called out as being part of the rote creation process which is why they only work with Rotes.

    Bypassing Withstand is one effect...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Mrmdubois; 12-11-2017, 05:29 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • You can’t combine cast a damage spell with itself and double the damage you’re putting out. Second, direct damage spells don’t deal with Withstand unless a Reach has been spent to apply a Tilt.

    You can’t apply a Mudra bonus to a spell that isn’t a Rote.
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Mrmdubois; Yesterday, 05:23 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Well, first off, that would be a use of Time 5 Corridors of Time, but the answer is yes, they'd still be able to use magic. Unless they take steps to ensure that they never Awaken, which is something you could do with Rewrite History which is Time 4, but doesn't include time travel. The effects will only stick if you do use time travel though, so Rewrite History has the potential to wear off either because of Duration lapse or other possible effects that might end the spell. Mages with Time can totally pull off the Time Lord watch though....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Just idle speculation, but I wouldn't be surprised to learn that Mages lump Claimed in with Cryptids, or mistake one for the other considering the way Cryptids were portrayed in 1e.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Aspirations and Obsessions are pretty open ended by design. Aspirations will typically be mundane though it can be related to magic. For instance gaining status in the Silver Ladder is a mundane objective with a magical connection. Obsessions are typically magical in nature, like finding the soul stone of Xanaphos the founder of the Legacy of the Cornucopia for instance....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • It rewrites your spatial Pattern....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • The very rules you quoted clearly state that the primary arcana (You know, the one being used to activate the attainment) must be one of your Ruling arcana. Matter 2, Mind 3 would fail if you’re a Moros.

    The exception is when you pick up a third ruling arcana from a legacy. If your hypothetical Moros was initiated into a legacy with Mind primary it would work, -but- to specifically request an entity that has Matter as a secondary arcana it would require that you have Matter 3 as detailed on pg. 94 where the rules tell you quite clearly to check....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • First of all, the primary arcana obviously has to have 3 dots or you can’t even use the attainment. Second of all it’s made clear in the Supernal entity summoning rules which are referenced before the text that you quoted.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • In what way?...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:

No activity results to display
Show More

Profile Sidebar

Collapse
Profile Picture
Mrmdubois
Member
Last Activity: Today, 11:12 AM
Joined: 04-02-2014
Location:
Working...
X