Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

User Profile

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
  • Source
Clear All
new posts

  • For what purpose? Mages already move through the Astral as though they were using Burrows everywhere....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Death 3 can arguably heal you via Fraying even if you aren't....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • lnodiv
    replied to Time Liches
    No, the way it's written is fine. You want to houserule it, and that's also fine.
    The language is not unclear - each individual use counts as one Yantra. You had several individual uses listed, which takes several Yantras.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • I'd say these are still Prometheans, just like Mages that haven't quite hit 6 dots of Arcana are still Mages, or Werewolves on the night of their First Change are still werewolves.

    They aren't as far along in their development as the systems model starting characters being, but that doesn't make them something else....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Possession with an increased scale factor would be sufficient at my table. Even if that's not the spell you go with, I'd say Patterning is the practice you're looking for.


    The Familiar Bond only creates the Familiar Manifestation, which doesn't interact with Resonant/Anchor/Open/etc. Open would still need to be created by the Mage or the Familiar itself, though creating a long-lasting Open condition on the mage wouldn't be any more difficult than the Familiar spell is.

    You could even combine them with the original casting if you want the Familiar to be able to...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Wow. I had no idea this sort of thing was even a thing.
    I have a lot of stuff I could put here.

    Anyone know if they support pay-what-you-want pricing?
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • lnodiv
    replied to Ghost Gate shenanigans
    Yes, now. Those that jumped in pre-errata could see the confusion writ (literally) as clear as day. If you have doubts, there's still a reference to it in the errata document, which they published before releasing the errata'd book:


    That wouldn't be errata if it wasn't written differently before....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Is Diablerie an extended action (thus subject to the limits of extended actions, such as the maximum number of rolls, taking a Condition on failed rolls, etc) or a series of instant actions (and thus only limited by the Willpower you're willing to spend, but necessitating that you hit the required number of successes on a single roll, since they don't bank from roll-to-roll)?

    A strict reading seems to imply the latter, and that would certainly make diablerizing more potent Kindred a challenge...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • lnodiv
    replied to Ghost Gate shenanigans
    Mostly going to talk about how I run this (interpretation + house rules), but this is worth mentioning - per RAW, Twilight isn't a location, so it follows that Space isn't going to be moving you into or out of it.

    The spell seems to have been originally written with the misunderstanding that Twilight was a place, so it's kind of wonky because of that.

    How it works at my table:
    1) When the 'plane' shifts something into or out of a Twilight state, the effect is Lasting (being in the new state is a side effect of the actual effect of the spell, which is creating the...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • lnodiv
    replied to Homebrew Mage Merits
    One of the dev blogs used to describe using Blood Sacrifices as a Sacrament to gain a Yantra Bonus equal to Mana gain, in lieu of Mana itself. It looks like that got cut from the book, but I thought it was pretty awesome, so I built a merit around the idea.

    Blood Magic (Style, • to •••)
    Prerequisites: Awakened, Resolve •••, Composure •••
    Effect: You are particularly adept at the twisted art of fueling your magic with living sacraments.

    Blood-Stained Implements (•) -- You've learned how to preserve the lingering energies from a blood sacrifice, and by ritually...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • lnodiv
    replied to Blood Sacrifice as a Sacrament
    Blood Sacrifices are described in the Mana section, and I think that's the idea, yes - though the book isn't particularly clear on this....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • lnodiv
    started a topic Blood Sacrifice as a Sacrament

    Blood Sacrifice as a Sacrament

    The above is from page 152 of Mage: the Awakening, and roughly implies that blood sacrifice as a Yantra nets you a +1 or +2. It's alright, but nothing particularly grand.

    What follows is from the dev diary 'A lever and a firm place to stand', and would result in similar Yantra bonuses, save for the case of human sacrifice, which would grant very large bonuses for semiotically compatible spells.


    Does anyone know if there have been any statements about whether or not this was cut for space, or if it was a design decision?

    If it was the latter, how...
    See more | Go to post

  • lnodiv
    replied to Preparing for Investigation
    My premise is that there aren't any fucking rules for it....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • The answer to that is a little controversial and depends on how you read the spell.

    If it's hiding something under the purview from detection, it would hide the supernatural elements listed in the spell's description from any kind of detection, even via mundane senses.
    If it's hiding something from detection by things under the purview of the arcanum, it hides them only from supernatural detection.

    The way the spell is written, and the fact that it's limited to only effecting specific supernatural subjects, can be read to heavily imply that it is meant to be the...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • lnodiv
    replied to Preparing for Investigation
    "Context matters."

    There are no written rules that explain how it would work for a Mage. The entire concept is locked behind the section that talks about non-mage supernatural persons.

    You'll note that there's nothing in your quote that says a Mage can take another Mage's spell into their own spell control.
    You'll note that it's also not written in the Spell Control section.

    In fact, you might note that the entire concept hinges on storing spells on a sympathetic tie, not within anyone's spell control, so if you're going to take this completely...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by lnodiv; 10-07-2018, 03:29 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Yep. It's a pretty great ability for lots of body horror shenanigans.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • They don't use skills, as Tessie advised - however yes, their dice pools for most actions quickly become very, very large after Rank 2.

    This is true for all ephemerals, and is one of the things that makes them a large threat....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • The arguments towards inefficacy aren't saying that you can't get a confession.
    They're saying that you might as well flip a coin to see if it's actually true or not, because they're just going to tell you what they think you want to hear. Maybe that's the truth, maybe not....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • That doesn't map to all ephemerals, though. Rank 2 Ghosts are basically as intelligent and aware as they were when they died.

    I don't think we have any similar statements for Angels, the ones in question, here....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Glad that my house rule isn't out of line with the intended setting. Now we can get back to Malus pretending that the severed limb of a shapeshifting monster - a limb that literally shifted when it was removed - isn't symbolic of the ability to shapeshift in his games, so it must be against RAW.

    If only more people could latch on to the first part - which is the same thing literally every single person arguing this has mentioned more than once.

    If it doesn't make sense for you, don't use it....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:

No activity results to display
Show More

Profile Sidebar

Collapse
lnodiv
lnodiv
Member
Last Activity: Today, 03:31 PM
Joined: 07-26-2014
Location:
Working...
X