I believe that you were correct in having 2 spells at each level. To supplement the passage on 113, the rules for advancement (111) and the Mancy secret (82) also clarify how it's meant to work, somewhat.

When they gain a level, "Mancers and Ministers choose two more spells" and in addition choose one Refinement (111). The Refinements for Mancy say, "You can choose spells of the next-highest spell level (p. 113). This refinement can be taken multiple times." Or "The mancer can learn four more spells at her current spell level this advancement (for a total...