Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

User Profile

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
  • Source
Clear All
new posts

  • Cheshire Cat
    replied to Ask a question, get an answer
    I mean it figured it was obvious that you had to pay for all the steps for something like Influence, where every step builds on the step before it.
    But I'm not getting gliding wings and then evolving them into wing-wings.
    I do however see how one might read RAW as you guys did, so maybe I was too easy on myself in my thought experiment.

    Either way there's consensus on RAW stating you only pay 4xp on your working and that's it? I mean it's fine, you already took a Charm for it... (j/k sorcery is incredibly powerful for just one Charm, but I'm trying to figure out what RAW...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • The Campaign I'm Running Is:

    Dark City meets Aladdin;
    Genie is a Malefactor;
    The player characters are trying to rule Chiaroscuro;
    A temple-manse might contain a Fifth Element Style McGuffin.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Cheshire Cat
    replied to I don't get Falcon Style
    Oh I did forget, well, that's a nice benny, at least.
    I guess it's just that it's all a very neat toolbox without the obvious combos some other styles boast. I remain thankful for all you guys time!
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Cheshire Cat
    replied to Ask a question, get an answer
    Huh? How do you figure? Wings is 3dot or 5dot, not 3 to 5 dot so I presume you can get the 5-dot version for 15xp flat wihtout having to pay for the 3-dot version first, or am I mistaken?...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Cheshire Cat
    replied to Ask a question, get an answer
    So giving yourself or a willing subject mutations via a Sorcerous Working is ambition 2, terrestrial, which would cost a Terrestrial Circle sorcerer 4xp.
    If the sorcerer gives herself mutations, does she also pay xp for the mutations, or is that cost covered with the 4xp cost?
    Because 4xp for something like 5-dot wings or 5-dot unusual hide seems very cheap. On the other hand 15xp + 4xp of the working would be 19xp for such a mutation, which would be incredibly expensive.
    Anyone put any thought in this?
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Cheshire Cat
    replied to I don't get Falcon Style
    Oh yeah sure, I mean it's not a huge no-no, I'm just trying to fully understand the mechanics. And as I see it you would use RFD, which resets you to base and prones you, so your victim, if it's not crashed, has a good chance of going first next round, before you get to rise from prone. And it also means, without Cat-Footed Grace you're not using FTF.
    I mean sure, you can smash your opponent with RFD, so you're both prone, at least.
    By now I'm getting a grasp on Falcon, so TY all you guys.
    Just stumbled over the idea of "FTF trivializes Rise From Prone", because it...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Cheshire Cat
    replied to I don't get Falcon Style
    But doesn't my rise from prone use up my movement action? So I attack, and FTF gives me a reflexive movement action I can't use because I'm prone, and rising from prone isn't a movement action...

    Though I just realize you can just get Cat-Footed Grace to fix that
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Cheshire Cat
    replied to I don't get Falcon Style
    Does it though?
    Because you can't take movement actions other than Rise from Prone while you're prone, so you wouldn't be able to use FTF unless I'm overlooking something?...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • I assume the point is that if the Realm survives the disappearance of the Empress, and manages to install a means of succession, it will stabilize for the forseeable future.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Cheshire Cat
    replied to Ask a question, get an answer
    Alright, that is how I would've handled this as an ST as well, but always good to see that there might be consensus. Thanks!
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Cheshire Cat
    started a topic I don't get Falcon Style

    I don't get Falcon Style

    What it says on the tin.
    Falcon is this weird mix of wanting you to attack from above, but it's first signature move, Raptor's Fatal Descent, leaves you prone, which prevents you from getting airborne again easily.
    A lot of it's bennies support grapples, but it kind of wants you to fly/jump up and swoop down again and it's not super great at dragging someone with you, so it apparently wants you to throw people a lot, I guess?

    Falcon also has a whopping 4 Simple Charms, which are incompatible with each other, well, because they're Simple type charms. I just don't get it....
    See more | Go to post

  • Cheshire Cat
    replied to Ask a question, get an answer
    If someone tries to ambush me, and I beat their Join Battle, but not their Stealth roll, is there anything stopping me from just clashing their surprise attack?
    And since I'm clashing not defending, do I still have a -2 penalty on my clash as I would've had on my defense?
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Cheshire Cat
    replied to Solar Presence rewrite
    Whoah, you're right, my head-canon was... Head-canon, not canon!
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Cheshire Cat
    replied to Solar Presence rewrite
    I mean he's got a point with it being very punishing to characters that want to empathize Manipulation or Appearance over Charisma.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Cheshire Cat
    replied to Obsidian Shards of Infinity Style
    I need to expensively back something to get Crystal Chameleon.
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Cheshire Cat
    replied to Master's Stone
    On pure theoretical balance considerations, I would either not allow this effect as an ST, like, at all, or have it on a lvl 5 or N/A artifact (possibly silken armor?) where it's gated behind an Evocation that has the Style's Form as a prerequisite.

    If I was asked by the guy playing a DB in a mixed Celestial Circle, I'd probably just allow it, because I don't see it as inherently wrongbadfun to have the DB be kind of on par with the rest of the Circle as long as they're all Player Characters.

    I would just never allow this to casually exist in-setting because I don't want...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Yeah what Lioness said.
    It's Exalted's coherent world and spelled-out consequences in-setting that basically teach you examples of how shit might go sideways as you read setting history.
    That is what gets me about Exalted.
    It's so stuffed with references to brewing conflict, that it is very obvious to an ST (and many players) where to apply pressure to make things get interesting. And you'll have a good idea of how they'll get interesting. What other games have as word count on bestiarys, Exalted has on instable kingdoms and provinces, and it shows in the way the game's played....
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Cheshire Cat
    replied to A Devil's Bargain (Roll)
    Yeah I felt like most of our disagreement was due to me not phrasing my previous argument as elegantly as it could've been, and beyond that it all seems very granular, so let's just agree to 90% agree and not sweat the 10%.

    Edit: I might've also shot past your point a bit where you elaborate on the point that the contention might be about what the character wants, which I kind of assumed was a given. So yeah, I could've wasted less of both of our time. Thanks for taking the time anyway. And on the 10% we disagree on, I hope I gave some food for thought.

    To the point:...
    See more | Go to post
    Last edited by Cheshire Cat; 07-15-2020, 09:14 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Cheshire Cat
    replied to A Devil's Bargain (Roll)
    The player decides if Oscar wants to step up. The dice decide if Oscar does step up. If they didn't, the player might as well decide everything.
    Why does the player then not get to decide whether his sword strike hits that death knight? How dare you force upon the player the decision of having missed his attack?


    The player decides what his character wants to do. If the player gave his character a flaw of drug addiction, it really isn't too much abuse to then ask him to periodically roll for it.


    But if you take the aim action, and then attack, you...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:


  • Cheshire Cat
    replied to A Devil's Bargain (Roll)
    I dunno man, in my mind what you see as a niche middle ground is pretty wide. I can see lots of cases where a roll can just swing the decision without anyone being upset over it.

    Let's take your example of Sally the Salesman offering the character... Let's call him Oscar the Opium Addict some opium.

    Okay.

    Sally walks up to Oscar, who is a massive O-head, and Sally knows this. But the door is also supposed to be guarded, Oscar knows this, and he has a minor intimacy that might apply as to why he wants to do a good job guarding that door. Or the player decides...
    See more | Go to post

    Leave a comment:

No activity results to display
Show More

Profile Sidebar

Collapse
Cheshire Cat
Cheshire Cat
Member
Last Activity: Yesterday, 05:55 PM
Joined: 11-08-2013
Location:
Working...
X