Taste of the strange merit; while reading Ancient Mysteries, I found this merit; odd, I just naturally assumed a vampire with a Blood-potency of seven plus, could, always gain sustenance from other supernatural-creatures like werewolves.
Announcement
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Ask a Simple Question: Vampire
Collapse
X
-
Originally posted by Iguazu View PostTaste of the strange merit; while reading Ancient Mysteries, I found this merit; odd, I just naturally assumed a vampire with a Blood-potency of seven plus, could, always gain sustenance from other supernatural-creatures like werewolves.
Definitely not the norm, at least in 1st edition, that Ancient Mysteries was clearly a book for.
Comment
-
Originally posted by Iguazu View PostTaste of the strange merit; while reading Ancient Mysteries, I found this merit; odd, I just naturally assumed a vampire with a Blood-potency of seven plus, could, always gain sustenance from other supernatural-creatures like werewolves.
Resident Lore-Hound
Currently Consuming: Demon: the Descent 1e
- Likes 1
Comment
-
Originally posted by ShadowcatX View PostIn the werewolf book Shunned by the Moon the Eaters of the Dead believe that vampires killed and drained their totem of its power a long time ago. Is that ever touched up on in VtR and if so what details does Vampire give?
But from what i saw in the wiki, his narrative gives me something of Strix vibes but could be something else altogether, considering his sacred hunt also cites sin-eaters and mummies.
Comment
-
Originally posted by Baaldam View Post
i'd say it's 50-50 chance of anyone having planned for a Requiem callback.
ETA: It's worth noting that the totem itself is from first edition. It's from a different lodge though: https://whitewolf.fandom.com/wiki/Lodge_of_the_Feast and isn't actually a second born, just pretending to be a second born it seems.
But from what i saw in the wiki, his narrative gives me something of Strix vibes but could be something else altogether, considering his sacred hunt also cites sin-eaters and mummies.Last edited by ShadowcatX; 04-14-2023, 03:53 PM.
Comment
-
Originally posted by ShadowcatX View Post
That's about what I figured so I thought I would ask.
ETA: It's worth noting that the totem itself is from first edition. It's from a different lodge though: https://whitewolf.fandom.com/wiki/Lodge_of_the_Feast and isn't actually a second born, just pretending to be a second born it seems.
That's good to know indeed. Really reminds me of these guys and this.
Originally posted by ShadowcatX View PostThe comment about "drained her dry" along with the numerous mentions of vampires in particular is what lead me to think Vampire. Could have been the strix though, but that would still typically be confirmed through the VtR books I would assume.
It could be strix-possessed, a bloodline or clan lost to the ages, some other sort of wicked dead not of the kindred like Jiangshi, Penanggal, Mnemovores, Ghuls or more, sekhem-hungry Amkhat, weird escaped denizens of the Underworld, Lower Depths, Abyss and who knows what else.
Or maybe the "draining it dry" refers to someone eliminating her cannibal followers instead.....lots of room for interpretation there.Last edited by Baaldam; 04-14-2023, 06:09 PM.
- Likes 1
Comment
-
Originally posted by ShadowcatX View PostAre disciplines that require multiple viate off limits to younger kindred or is the spend blood until you spend enough rule discussed under juggernaut's gait a universal rule?
* See Werewolf 2e Core p100, Mage 2e Core p87, Promethean 2e Core p168, Changeling 2e Core p126, Geist 2e Core p101, and Demon Core p109.
**Except Mummy, where Sekhem falling is a big deal, the least time-restricted things you can spend Pillars on only cost one or two Pillars, and you don't lose the ability to spend more than one Pillar per turn until the level at which you can't use Utterances that cost more than one Pillar anyway.Last edited by Satchel; 04-17-2023, 09:41 AM.
Resident Lore-Hound
Currently Consuming: Demon: the Descent 1e
- Likes 2
Comment
-
Originally posted by Satchel View PostThere's no explicit statement that I can find, but considering that "if an effect takes more fuel than you can spend in a single turn, you can spend it over multiple turns and the effect activates once you've met the cost" is universally described in every other splatbook* with a fuel-per-turn limit** and vampires already need to spend multiple Vitae to heal aggravated damage, I'd say they're not off-limits so much as unable to be quickly marshaled — Juggernaut's Gait has that note because it's specifically there to negate damage immediately and that doesn't work if you can't have spent five Vitae by the time the damage would come due.
* See Werewolf 2e Core p100, Mage 2e Core p87, Promethean 2e Core p168, Changeling 2e Core p126, Geist 2e Core p101, and Demon Core p109.
**Except Mummy, where Sekhem falling is a big deal, the least time-restricted things you can spend Pillars on only cost one or two Pillars, and you don't lose the ability to spend more than one Pillar per turn until the level at which you can't use Utterances that cost more than one Pillar anyway.
Comment
-
Originally posted by ShadowcatX View PostIs there anything that ever converted KotE over to VtR 2e? I'm fine with someone's post on here or a product on the shop.
Kelly R.S. Steele, Freelance Writer(Feel free to call me Kelly, Arcane, or Arc)
The world is not beautiful, therefore it is.-Keiichi Sigsawa, Kino's Journey
Feminine pronouns, please.
Comment
-
Originally posted by ShadowcatX View Post
Ty for letting me know. Someone on Reddit asked what VtM vampires and Requiem Vampires would think of each other and that made me curious as to what KotE vampires would think of Requiem ones and vice versa.
That said they would still probably fit into one of the "five clans" or something similar enough, but then Requiem's perception of what a clan entails can be quite different from Masquerade's and in some aspects bleeds into KotE's conception of Dharma, might be said.Last edited by Baaldam; 05-18-2023, 08:32 PM.
Comment
-
When someone who is already blood-bound is Embraced, does the blood bond persist? 1E gives conflicting answers in core vs the Ghouls book, and I'm not finding an answer in published 2E materials at all, which surprises me. My instinct says existing bonds are probably broken when the childe dies as part of the Embrace, but I'm not sure.
Comment
Comment